Connection between 2 PC's

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Gen5_EG, Sep 24, 2005.

  1. Gen5_EG

    Gen5_EG :)

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2001
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    How can I connect my desktop and laptop via my 10/100 ethernet card so that I can share files between them? This would be just peer to peer and not going over the internet or anything. What do I need to do to accomplish this? It's not as simple as just hooking my CAT-5 to one end to the other, right? Do I need a hub for this or anything?
     
  2. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    you can use either a router or a crossover cable. Any computer store should be able to make you a crossover cable.
     
  3. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    fixed


    you won't find anyone to make one, but you can find plenty to sell one pre-made
     
  4. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can

    well that is wierd because I watched them crimp my crossover cable. Any shop that sells and crimps Cat5 cable can make a crossover cable.
     
  5. tony

    tony Guest

    If you're lucky, either of your machines might have a auto-MDI/MDX type port. I can connect my laptop and desktop with a standard Cat-5 cable.
     
  6. Gen5_EG

    Gen5_EG :)

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2001
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    it keeps asking me for a password to the other computer and vice versa.....i have no clue how to disable this.
     
  7. Tom93R1

    Tom93R1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    Your problem with passwords depends on the OS, if any of the computers is running NT, 2000, or XP Pro then both computers will need a user account with the same name. For instance, my home desktop runs XP Pro and for my Win98se laptop to navigate the directories I had to create a user for the desktop and a user for the laptop with the same name. For simplicity I just named the accounts "laptop".
     

Share This Page