connecting remotely to a computer? how to stop it?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Suazo, Dec 3, 2007.

  1. Suazo

    Suazo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Hey so I have a question, my gf's ex is somehow connecting remotely to her computer because he is able to read our IM conversations...

    I havent use her computer, all i know is that is an XP


    how can i resolve this??

    thanks :wavey:
     
  2. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    shut off remote access?
     
  3. Suazo

    Suazo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    how do i do that?
     
  4. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    Right click My Computer -> Properties. There is a tab there that says "remote"
     
  5. peerk

    peerk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    He could also be doing it with another program.

    You can run a virus scan and malware scan but those might not pick up legit monitoring software. Next you can look at the programs that launch at startup and the current running processes.

    It might be easiest to back up all her documents and pop in the system restore CD. Then tell her to change all her passwords (email, banking,etc).
     
  6. etech

    etech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,660
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Suazo

    Suazo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles

    yes I was thinking the same thing. Just do a fresh install...



    thanks guys
     
  8. noon

    noon get high and teach me how to listen

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    you don't need a fresh install, just disable remote connect as DaveyD described and use ZoneAlarm or something similar until to figure out what he is using to connect, it is probably just a keylogger/small trojan
     

Share This Page