Configuring Squid Proxy for yahoo messenger..

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Sabrewulf, Oct 2, 2006.

  1. Sabrewulf

    Sabrewulf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    Anyone know how to setup squid proxy to allow yahoo messenger to work through it? I know that yahoo can work through the http port, so i would think that squid would work for this.

    my configuration for this:
    Code:
    acl yahoo url_regex messenger.yahoo.com
    acl yahoo url_regex msg.yahoo.com
    acl yahoo url_regex sc5.yahoo.com
    acl yahoo url_regex webcam.yahoo.com
    acl yahoo url_regex filetransfer.yahoo.com
    acl Safe_ports port 5000        # Yahoo Messenger Chat
    acl Safe_ports port 5001        # Yahoo Messenger Chat
    acl Safe_ports port 5050        # Yahoo Messenger port
    acl Safe_ports port 5055        # Yahoo Messenger Phone
    acl work src **********
    http_access allow work yahoo
    
    I have setup yahoo to use http proxy and placed the address and port of the proxy server in. Anyone have any idea of what i could be doing wrong?
     
  2. Xyroquell

    Xyroquell New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check your squid-errorlog. It probably tells you what goes wrong and why.
     
  3. Sabrewulf

    Sabrewulf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    Here's the log. Seems that a TCP_MISS/000 usually means it recieved no response. The more i research on this, most people have changed proxy servers because of this issue... Here's the log on what it shows when i try to connect. All it does on ymessenger is just try to connect, then go back to teh signin/cancel buttons.. :ugh:
    Code:
    1159880921.376     43 ***.***.***.*** TCP_MISS/000 0 POST [URL="http://shttp.msg.yahoo.com/notify/"]http://shttp.msg.yahoo.com/notify/[/URL] - DIRECT/216.155.194.239 -
    1159880959.160     48 ***.***.***.*** TCP_MISS/000 0 POST [URL="http://shttp.msg.yahoo.com/notify/"]http://shttp.msg.yahoo.com/notify/[/URL] - DIRECT/216.155.194.239 -
    1159880963.601     48 ***.***.***.*** TCP_MISS/000 0 POST [URL="http://shttp.msg.yahoo.com/notify/"]http://shttp.msg.yahoo.com/notify/[/URL] - DIRECT/216.155.194.239 -
    
     
  4. Xyroquell

    Xyroquell New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have any rewrites in place?
     
  5. Sabrewulf

    Sabrewulf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    Nope

    Trillian Log -
    Code:
    [09:15] *** Creating connection "*******"
    [09:15] *** Lost connection to network (Error Code: 10054).
    
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2006
  6. Sabrewulf

    Sabrewulf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    Anyone have any ideas?
     

Share This Page