A&P Computers, Lightroom, and raw files...

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by adamlewis88, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    So Lightroom has always been, IMO, kinda on the slower side of things. I bought the computer I have now like 5 years ago..It was ballin at the time but now I think its starting to show its age.

    Its an older P4 3.2GHz with HT and I only have 1.5GB of RAM. And then its got some older SATA drives and even some IDE stuff too :ugh:

    So if I spent like $750, I could build something pretty decent and stuff would run a lot faster, amirite?

    This is what I got..

    2x Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
    EVGA 512-P3-N871-AR GeForce 9800 GTX 512MB 256-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card - Retail
    CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 ... - Retail
    G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ - Retail
    ASUS P5N-D LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
    Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.66GHz LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80580Q9400 - Retail

    Thats got to run a helluva lot better than what I have now, right?
     
  2. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went from a dual core amd chip about the same age as that p4 and 2gb of ram to a q9300 with 4gb of ram on an asus board and it made a world of difference.
     
  3. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    :noes:

    Ill have to see what the wife says!
     
  4. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    I might consider looking into a different video card though. I went with an ati card because at the price point I was trying to spend ati ran circles around nvidia.
     
  5. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Orly? I know nothing about computers anymore. Ill have to educate myself some more. Thanks for the advice.
     
  6. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Later when I'm not on my iPhone waiting for my daughters dance class I can probably be more help.
     
  7. Dan Martin

    Dan Martin OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    If it's primarily a photo editing machine and you're not playing games with it, you should look at a Core i5 750 and use the integrated video with a board like the Asus P7H55-M PRO.

    i5 750 = $195
    Asus P7H55-M PRO = $110
    Corsair 4GB (2x2gb) = $110
    Total = $410
     
  8. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Except that Photoshop cs4 uses the gpu to help take some of the load off the CPU so having a fast gpu will help with the speed of Photoshop.
     
  9. Dan Martin

    Dan Martin OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Yes and no. It really only gives you smooth panning and zooming, but they're kind of annoying to work with and they anti-alias everything so what you're seeing isn't very true to the final output. The GPU doesn't make filters run faster. I believe there was a set of plugins made for the Quadro cards that offloaded some of the work to the GPU.
     
  10. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Well I will be using it for gaming too. Im still partly a big kid :mamoru: But thanks for the advice
     
  11. Dan Martin

    Dan Martin OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    I'd still go with a Core i5, even if you're going to add a video card. Core2 is old and busted now. :)

    Photoshop is almost entirely IO limited, but gaming will benefit from the faster CPU and GPU.

    For Photoshop performance: RAM > SSD > CPU >>> GPU
     
  12. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    its always run faster for me on similarly spec'd mac's :hs:

    beta3 seems faster to me too
     
  13. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    whether that's true or not... his budget is pretty low, dude :o
     
  14. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I dont want a mac.
    So an i5 would be better than that quad core I listed?
     
  15. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    if you get one of the quad cores, yeah
     
  16. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest

    quad core with windows 7 = win

    look at ati vid cards too. like 5750's are $150
     
  17. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    So I should get a quad core i5? Is a quad core i7 that much better (really worth the extra money)?
     
  18. Dan Martin

    Dan Martin OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    A Core i5 750 is faster than even the Core2 QX6850 extreme for Photoshop duties. Or you can go crazy and spend the extra $90 for an i7 920, but the i5 750 is plenty fast. I'd go with an i5 and put the leftover budget towards an SSD. You'll see a much bigger improvement with an SSD than you will with a faster CPU in just about anything you do on your computer.
     
  19. spahndirge

    spahndirge Scumbag Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    I upgraded from a similar system, you'll definately notice a huge leap. I have pretty much that pc now...

    Intel q6600
    Asus p5Q
    G Skill Pi 4GB (Exact same model)
    Radeon 4850 512MB


    Lightroom takes about 3 seconds to display the full resolution of a raw file when clicking on it from thumbnail view. About 6 seconds to load the program and begin work. I use a 40D (10MP raw files) if you're gonna upgrade to a 5D or something, you might need another upgrade of ram.

    Then again, I get very impatient with a slow(ish) pc.
     
  20. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    :rofl: I was using LR for my 5D2 files. Took like a minute to convert one raw to JPG :wtc:
     
  21. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Are SSD drives reliable? I suppose no moving parts...but I really want the SIZE more than the speed :hs:
     
  22. Dan Martin

    Dan Martin OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Just get a small SSD as a boot volume and keep everything else on a normal disk. You shouldn't ever have all your stuff in one place anyway, spinning disks or SSDs are bound to fail at some point.
     
  23. johan

    johan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sahasrara; magnetic violet infinite
    If its primarily speed you're looking for, then the extra $90 upfront, to go to an i7 920 would seem very worthwhile

    A boot SSD can be added later on pretty easily, but most people rarely u/g their cpu.
     
  24. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Lightroom is slow no matter what machine you're on, especially if you're used to Photo Mechanic or Bridge + Photoshop and ACR. I used it on a 16 core Mac Pro the other day and it was sluggish feeling. I guess I am just used to programs that respond quicker :duuno:
     
  25. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I always cull through Photo Mechanic which is still fast even on my old hunkajunk and then work on things in LR. Ive never tried bridge to be honest.
     

Share This Page