computer won't start up all the way v. wtf

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ccrooks, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    so, here's the deal...

    i finished rebuilding my computer a couple of months ago and have started having this problem just recently. when the computer's on, it'll just randomly shut off and half start back up. it seems like everything's spinning up, but doesn't sound the same (if that makes any sense) and the monitor's blank.

    I can't shut the thing off with the power button either, i have to disconnect the power cord from the power supply. if i wait for a few seconds and reconnect it, i can turn the computer on, but the monitor's still blank. the drives spin up and the fans turn on, but the monitor's not showing anything on the display...

    I was thinking that it's a power supply issue, maybe, but a 500W power supply should be enough... i'm running 2 CD drives, 2 IDE HDDs, and the other normal stuff (case fans, cpu, video card, etc.)

    it happened yesterday and last night, it still wouldn't work... so i unplugged everything, moved it to the top of my desk and took off the side panel. i checked to make sure that everything was properly connected inside the case, which it was, and when i tried it again, it worked :uh:

    anybody have any experience with this? or any ideas what i can do?
     
  2. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
  3. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    nobody has any ideas?
     
  4. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Start pulling components and find out what is causing it. With no video, it is maybe a video card or motherboard. Pull the video card and RAM and test for beep codes.
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    First, some basic troubleshooting:

    Start > control panel > Display properties > Screen saver tab > Power > Advanced tab >
    Select "Shut down" in the drop down arrow at the bottom of the box > Apply and exit.
    Now see if you can shutdown your computer by pressing the power button ---

    While you're in Control panel, click on System > Advanced tab > Under "Startup and Recovery",
    click on Settings > uncheck the box for Automatically restart > OK, Apply and exit.
    ..................................................................................................................................................

    Now, you want to find out if you're getting any specific errors when this happens:

    Right click on my computer > left click on manage >

    on the left side, double click event viewer >

    Right click application > clear all events >

    Right click system > clear all events > close out computer management >

    Wait until the next shutdown, and then double click both application
    and system and look for yellows and reds.
     
  6. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    i'll give that a shot if i can get it back up and running again :sad2:
     
  7. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    what do you mean "test for beep codes?"

    I'm wondering if it's one of my sticks of ram that's causing it...
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    Anything can happen, but I would put failing memory at the bottom of the list for possible causes for your restarts.

    More likely a power supply. But do what I posted. That will help narrow it down some.
     
  9. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    well, i got home and did the old unplug-replug-turn on thing again and on the 3rd time, it worked :hsughno:

    i'll try what you posted... you really think it could be a power issue with the components taht i have running on a 500W power supply?
     
  10. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    there's a bunch of Tcpip warnings in there... seems to be every time the thing restarts/fucks up it's right after a Tcpip warning... thoughts?


    TCP/IP has reached the security limit imposed on the number of concurrent TCP connect attempts.
     
  11. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    That's some sort of network limitation. I don't see how that would shut your computer down. You turned off the auto restart like I posted?

    And yes, a 500 watt power supply could cause restarts if it's failing.
     
  12. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    yar, auto-restart's off... it's just weird that there's the TCP/IP warning before the computer craps out

    maybe i should look into getting a new power supply...
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well I'm not a networking guy, but from a hardware point of view I could see if you maybe had a usb modem/router, and got some sort of TCP/IP issue going on that it
    could maybe cycle the modem/router causing a week power supply to crap out.

    That goes along with what Hate Crime suggested for pulling out various hardware pieces.

    Typically, you would unplug any extra hard drives, floppy drive, burners, adaptor cards, extra sticks of memory, and then see if it still shuts down. If it doesn't, you either have a bad piece of hardware or a weak or failing power supply.

    I usually do the software troubleshooting first since it's quickest, but it's more likely that you have a hardware issue.
     
  14. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Oh, and since it seems to be happening from a networking error, make sure you unplug your router/modem as well.
     
  15. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    i think it has something to do w/ me running Azureus
     
  16. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I think it doesn't. :x:
     

Share This Page