computer won't let me delete a toolbar

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by clever_username, Apr 25, 2008.

  1. clever_username

    clever_username Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    keeps saying i need permission to perform this action. funny thing is, mine is the only account on the computer, and i have administrator rights. what gives?
     
  2. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ouch. Hopefully it's not malware. It could wind up being trouble.

    If it isn't though, you should be able to just boot up into safe mode and delete it.

    Also, you could check msconfig to see if you can keep it from starting up with windows.
     
  4. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    did you try to remove it in Safe Mode? Disconnect from the internet (so that even if you leave a part, it can't rebuild)? Try HijackThis?

    Try searching Google for a solution, since you didn't give us the name of it. Chances are, you aren't the first person in the world to have this problem. Hell, chances are, the client's machine I just finished had it. It had so many third party toolbars that IE wouldn't start and I had to uninstall firefox completely to get rid of some things.
     
  5. clever_username

    clever_username Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    nah, i got it. it was a morpheus toolbar. i had to reinstall morpheus, then turned the toolbar off, then uninstalled morpheus. easy fix.
     

Share This Page