Computer with a TV tuner

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by GiantRutgersFan, Apr 12, 2007.

  1. I got a computer with a Pinnacle Wintv TV tuner installed. Its like 1.7 gigs athlon, 512 or 1024 ram (slips my mind), radeon 9000 graphics card, and like 120 gigs hard drive space.

    I also have a 19 inch LCD monitor.

    I havent used this computer in a long time, and I was wondering if theres some way that I can get good quality looking TV on there?

    a couple years ago I downloaded a few TV programs and they all sucked, as did the one that came with the TV tuner.

    Is there something like Windows MEdia Center that I can get (pref free, but if not let me know anyways). I am talking a quality comparable to regular TV (because I am contemplating using this as my regular TV for my bedroom to save space)
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    WinTV is shitty. If you get a decent TV tuner (such as the NVTV) then you get good quality.
     
  3. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    what would you consider to be good?
     
  4. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Are you sure the problem was with the tuner program and not the cable(s)?

    At one time I had to run a length of coax from a cable box in one room to the PC with the tuner card in another. The quality wasn't all that great and I thought the reason for the poor quality was the compression.
    Now the box and PC are in the same room, connected via A/V cables and the quality is great, just as good as the watching the box on the TV itself. I also tried it with a fresh coax cable that is more up-to-date and it still looked perfect.
    And I use the same software for the capture in all cases.

    So check your cable(s).
     
  5. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Yea, could be the coax cable.

    I used to have a WinTV card and it always had a good picture.
     
  6. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL

Share This Page