Computer upgrade Q.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MacandCheese, Aug 15, 2007.

  1. MacandCheese

    MacandCheese Mmm Mmmm Goood ;)

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Hi folks,

    Just a quick Q for you guys and gals (probably an easy one). I just bought a new mobo and a core2duo 2.33 chip. My ram is old (pc2100) ddr and it works fine with the setup.

    The problem is that the mobo is underclocking the cpu's speed to 1.4ghz per core. Is this due to the slower ram? When i try to boost up the settings (333mhz x 7), it resets itself back to 200 x 7.

    Logically, it appears that the ram is at fault, but before i go out and spend some $$, i wanted to hear what you thought.

    Thanks much!! :) :wiggle:
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it's overclocking for a reason... it's not a guarantee. and not all components support it equally.
     
  3. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Spend the 100$ and get some decent RAM.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    wait, what the fuck.... you're running a core2duo on fucking ddr pc-266? Are you retarded? That'll kill performance on a stock setup... let alone overclocking.
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    .
     
  6. MacandCheese

    MacandCheese Mmm Mmmm Goood ;)

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    lol... i only upgraded because my 6 year old mobo died on me. I didn't want to spend lots of $$ to fix it. But if newer ram will get the cores up to their normal speed, then i'll go buy some ram.

    not a huge deal either way, just trying to save a few bucks :)

    Thanks for the replies!
     

Share This Page