Computer turns on, then off, then on

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Tenny, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. Tenny

    Tenny OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    13,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Alright so I upgraded my computer today.

    Whats new:
    Abit IP35
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6750
    OCZ "Reaper" DDR2 800 4-4-4-15

    So when I first started it up, it turned on for roughly 3-5 seconds, then turned off for 3-5 seconds, then turned on again, and ran. It POST'd, got into Windows Setup, but stalled on Loading windows executables.

    So I was like wtf. I turned it off broke the system down again and just double checked all the cables, everything was fine, one cord was kinda tight, so I added another cord to make the connection easier.

    Turned the computer on again, and once again it turned off for 3-5 seconds, then it turned on again, and got stuck at the same point. At this point I throw in Ubuntu 7.04 to try loading that to make sure it's not the XP cd or something, and I see Memtest on it, so wtf might as well memtest it.

    Errors errors errors. It had found 38 hours within the first 3 seconds. So I'm like wtf, so I am ready to take the ram back, but then I was like wtf I might as well try the other ram bank, and I kinda felt like the ram wasn't in all the way on one of the sticks, but I moved it to the other bank anyways.

    I turn the computer on again, and once again on, then off, then on again. I figured I'd try Memtest again, and here I am 15 minutes in, and already passed once, and everything is fine. It's still running I figure I'll give it a full hour to run.

    The question now is why is it still doing the on / off / on? I've built dozens of computers, and never once seen or heard of anything like this. I've heard of on / off / on / off / etc.
    :sadwavey:
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    move them back to the orig slots. Still erroring? If not, could have not been seated properly. If you have problems, I would return the mobo and ram (for good measure).
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    also, keep in mind that abit boards are the MOST picky. Your settings must be perfect for them to work stable.
     
  4. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
  5. Tenny

    Tenny OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    13,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    oo Nice find, I'm about to switch it into the other bank. If it errors then I'll return them both... gotta love frys.. it's like renting :)
     
  6. Tenny

    Tenny OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    13,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Still having mem problems, switched it to the other bank again (the banks that were working.) and having errors on this bank now... taking both back now ... :(
     
  7. Tenny

    Tenny OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    13,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    They were out of mobo's :(, had to return all of it... oh well just wasn't my time.. I'll wait for the X38 then :)
     
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    just so you know,... most x38s will carry a premium price tag.
    Gigabyte's and Asus's X38s costs around $370+ each.
     

Share This Page