Computer to stereo connection

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by kWoKeR, Nov 19, 2003.

  1. kWoKeR

    kWoKeR New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2003
  2. allurbaseblng2me

    allurbaseblng2me New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
  3. Biomechanoid

    Biomechanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Woodline.
    yep. that's what I use for my car's PC
     
  4. kWoKeR

    kWoKeR New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Cool, thanks, guys!
     
  5. DrK_Mrk_iV

    DrK_Mrk_iV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    12,400
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    NC
    Is there any way you can get an optical/digital out for a receiver? For better clarity and sound?
     
  6. Biomechanoid

    Biomechanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Woodline.

    I know they do make them...

    you're referring to the optical and digital in/out on the SB Live! bays right?

    I've seen a few DVD and CD players that can accept those kinds of inputs, but brand names and model types are eluding me right now.
     
  7. Scott P

    Scott P I are lurking through. . .

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    do what i did. go to radio shack and get a headphone to rca jack and then run it to an aux port on the reciever. cost was total of about 20 bucks (mostly b/c i needs 25' of rca cables) all you have to do from there is set the default speaker setting on the computers to 5.1 and it sounds great.
     
  8. urmama

    urmama Uh Burrito? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,274
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Texas
    the one is have looks something similar to the one in the pic with the exception that mine has an input for the computer speakers. so i have my reciever and the speakers that came with my computer connected.
     
  9. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I thought true 5.1 would not be passed throught only a 2 cable RCA? I thought you need a digital coax or optical for true 5.1?
     
  10. 04

    04 Guest

    That is correct. You only need one RCA cable to pass a digital signal.
     
  11. ap

    ap New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Click here if your browser does not automatically
    Dolby Pro Logic II will "create" 5.1 like sound either way.
     
  12. 04

    04 Guest

    Still isnt a discrete 5.1 mix though. You are still extracting the data from a stereo signal.
     
  13. ap

    ap New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Click here if your browser does not automatically
    of course, but in this application, given the medium (pc games, mp3's, etc.) its really not that big of a deal.
     
  14. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Excuse me for being the n00b that I am, but by RCA cable you just mean the normal crappy RCA cable you get...or the digital coax? I thought they were differant, thats what the guy at the store told me

    I am a beginner with all this stuff, so bare with me :hs:
     
  15. 04

    04 Guest

    A normal crappy rca cable will pass a coaxial digital audio signal just fine. Infact, if you are really feeling adventureous, people have used a coat hanger in the past and transmitted a digital stream with no errors.

    The guy at the store was doing his job to sell you an expensive cable because the store makes a ton of profits on them.

    I suggest finding a cheap "video" coaxial cable and use it for a coaxial digital cable. And if you need a nice looking cable http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/show...St3=-69072263&DS_ID=3&Product_ID=117454&DID=7 would work great, and is very cheap at less than 7 dollars.
     
  16. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Great, thanks for the reply man! :bigthumb:
     

Share This Page