Computer science crew: what's your typical day to day duties?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by s2k, Feb 26, 2010.

1. s2k

s2k OT Supporter

And what type of job did u start out with when u were fresh out of college?
    did you have a lot to learn when you started working? was it intimidating working with other more seasoned colleagues?

Just seeing what I should expect when I graduate :hs:

2. White Stormy

White Stormy Take that, subspace!

you should probably expect unemployment

3. Corp

Corp OT Supporter

I just graduated in December, however my story may be a bit different because I've been working for this company off and on for the past three years doing co-ops.

My every day activities really aren't anything to get excited about. I come in and start coding, eventually I'll do a build of the project and test out the changes I made. Real world development is definitely different from the stuff I did in college. The problems I was given in college were more cookie cutter type stuff, the professor would usually give us some code and we had to expand it or fix it or whatever. In the real world you have to come up with everything, nothing is just handed to you.

As for the intimidation, I got that out of the way during my co-ops. I was definitely nervous at first during the co-op years, but I'm pretty comfortable with what I'm doing now. My boss is also really smart and doesn't mind if I need to ask him questions or get some guidance. Also, nobody here is the "typical" CS nerd type, no feelings are hurt if you let them know they're not doing something quite right, and nobody minds if you need to ask for some help.

Good luck finding work, I'm very lucky to have stayed with this company through all of my co-ops, if I hadn't I'm pretty sure I'd be unemployed right now :o