Computer problem, cant seem to figure it out

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by talontsiawd, Oct 27, 2003.

  1. talontsiawd

    talontsiawd OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    16,224
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    St.louis
    Ok my computer about a month ago would not find my slave drive. So i restard the computer and it could not find my master and/or slave. So i took out the slave drive and booted it up. Still could not find my master drive, so i hit the reset button and it found my master drive and boost up and runs fine. But on a primary start it wont find my drives. Lastest bios ont he mobo.

    Im running widowns XP
    Mobo is a kt7a
    chip is a t-bird 1.2ghz
    hard drive is a maxtor i belive. Its brand new one of the 8mb cache ones.

    Any ideas?

    thanks
     
  2. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    that is fucked, i'd check to make sure the jumpers are set right and that the IDE cables are secure, I had the same problem on my server last night, the BIOS found it one time, didnt find it after, then found it again, the IDE cable was loose :o
     
  3. BBB

    BBB OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    40,740
    Likes Received:
    11
    try getting one of those pci ide controllers. Or try putting your drive on cable select. Those Maxtor drives should be ATA133 and your mobo prolly only supports ata100 not like it matters but you can try it.
     
  4. talontsiawd

    talontsiawd OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    16,224
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    St.louis
    Ide cables are tight that was the first thing i checked. Also i only have one harddrive in there now and its set to master. I guess i could try cable select.

    I just dont get how it wont see the drive on the first boot but if i press reset it will find it.
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Could be a problem with the mobo itself.
     

Share This Page