Computer out -> TV in

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by zanyspy_dude, Feb 4, 2005.

  1. zanyspy_dude

    zanyspy_dude King of teh n00bz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    how do i make my tv show what my pc "sees" for the least amoutn of money?
     
  2. Afterimage

    Afterimage Guest

    At the very minimum you need a video card with a composite video output. Composite is what's also known as the single yellow video cable.
     
  3. zanyspy_dude

    zanyspy_dude King of teh n00bz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    if i have s-video will that get it done?
     
  4. StealthMode

    StealthMode Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    If your TV has an S-Video input it will.
     
  5. delussional77

    delussional77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    even if your TV doesn't have S-video input you can still use S-video from the video card...just need a high quality S-video to composite adapter. Don't go cheap or you'll likely get interference and degredation of picture quality.
     
  6. threeclaws

    threeclaws R.I.P.

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Messages:
    71,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Yes.

    It will look like shit for anything but video (ie don't bother trying to do word processing or surfing the web) I had my HTPC hooked up like that for a few years.
     

Share This Page