computer just loops/reboots

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by frostedfrank, Nov 14, 2007.

  1. frostedfrank

    frostedfrank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,753
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    So I woke up this morning to my omputer just rebooting non-stop, gets to the windows logo but the just reboots over and over.
    I tried shutting down and unplugging for a while, that didn't work.
    I was able to boot into safe mode and tried a system restore but didn't work either.

    what should I do?
    I have windows XP

    thanks
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Hit F8 during startup and disable automatic reboot on system failure.

    Let us know what the error code is/says.
     
  3. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    ib 0x0000007B :noes:
     
  4. frostedfrank

    frostedfrank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,753
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    not home right now but will see later tonight..:noes:
     
  5. frostedfrank

    frostedfrank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,753
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    so I get an error :
    0x0000000A

    so wtf should I do? disabled auto reboot and didn't work
    I'll try clearing the cmos maybe?

    edit: in safe mode I unchecked the reboot on sys failure and desactivated the page files. now when I boot I just get to the blue screen...
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2007
  6. frostedfrank

    frostedfrank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,753
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    not working :wtc:
    haven't installed anything lately. wtf :(
     
  7. frostedfrank

    frostedfrank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,753
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I got it.
    looks like soundcard had gone to shit.
    tested ram and everything and well sound card was it
    thanks anyway guys :wavey:
     
  8. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    BTW, the disable reboot on system failure only halts the machine on the error, so you can see what it says.

    Glad you got it figured out.
     
  9. frostedfrank

    frostedfrank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,753
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada

    thanks for the info!:cool:
     

Share This Page