Computer/Internet problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Bouwnt, Jan 5, 2007.

  1. Bouwnt

    Bouwnt choppa choppaaa

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Tx
    I get a dumb error message when I try to visit only CERTAIN sites. Namely any email, paypal, ebay, even facebook and myspace. Everything else works fine. Think something is wrong with my internet settings?

    Here's a pic of the screen I'm getting:
    [​IMG]

    Thanks
     
  2. Dj_MikeyMike

    Dj_MikeyMike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oZ
    Seems like your having some name resolving problems... revise the DNS settings you set in your connections
     
  3. Bouwnt

    Bouwnt choppa choppaaa

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Tx
    how exactly do i do that? not quite sure what that means =/
     
  4. tyrionlannister

    tyrionlannister New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Those all look like sites that use SSL for logins. Try it in IE, maybe you screwed up your Firefox settings.
     
  5. Bouwnt

    Bouwnt choppa choppaaa

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Tx
    thanks, i think you're on the right track with the SSL stuff, i saw that somewhere.

    tried using IE, but NO page works with it.

    is there any way to manual fix the SSL?
     
  6. tyrionlannister

    tyrionlannister New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    First, disable any internet security software you have on and try to browse again in IE.
    If you've disabled all of your firewalls/security software and are unable to browse in IE, run the Internet Connection Wizard again (IE -> Tools -> Internet Options -> Connections -> Setup). Hopefully that will get IE up and running if disabling your Firewall fails to resolve the issue.

    If both of your browsers are affected but you know you're online, it could be a single issue with your internet security software or it could be two separate browser issues.

    In Firefox (2), you can check to see if SSL is enabled (it is by default) by clicking Tools -> Options -> Advanced -> Encryption and making sure those top 2 boxes are checked.
    If Tools -> Options -> Advanced -> Network -> Settings is set to "Direct connection to the internet" then your problem is outside of Firefox, which seems likely if you're having problems with IE as well.
     
  7. Bouwnt

    Bouwnt choppa choppaaa

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Tx
    For some reason I cannot completely disable my firewall. I don't have anything other than Windows Security Center that I'm aware of. All of the tools settings look just fine, so I'm thinking now it may be a problem with the firewall. However, when I click "off" for the settings, it still shows as "on" when I leave that screen...
     
  8. tyrionlannister

    tyrionlannister New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Go to Start -> Control Panel -> Classic View -> Administrative Tools -> Services
    Double click "Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing"
    Click Stop
    Click Start
    Close these Windows, go to Control Panel -> Windows Firewall and turn it off if it's not already
    Attempt to connect again. If this fails to resolve your issue, turn the firewall on again and then turn it off again (Click Okay each time and open it up again) and see if that resolves your issue.

    Also, try mousing over the icons in the lower right corner of your screen to see if there is anything there which says "Norton" or "Traffic" or "Symantec" or "McCafee" or something to the nature of "internet security". You may have something that you're unaware of that might have been preinstalled on your PC.
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Start => Run => "cmd.exe"

    When the DOS window loads, run each of these commands:

    ipconfig /release
    ipconfig /flushdns
    ipconfig /renew

    This will almost always fix the problem. It's so reliable I even have a batch file that I put on every computer that comes into my hands, and I tell the owner to run that file if their internet stops working.
     
  10. Bouwnt

    Bouwnt choppa choppaaa

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Tx
    hmm that's good to know i'll keep that handy.

    i had a friend who came over and fixed it, but thanks everyone for the help!
     
  11. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well thank God none of us are curious about what your friend did to fix the problem. :rolleyes:
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    FYI, thread-starter, this is the antisocial-computer-geek way of reminding you that, as a courtesy for the help you got, you should tell us what the solution ultimately turned out to be.
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    I swear, sometimes I understand more and more why JollyOgre
    would get so crisp with people.
     
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was that directed at me? I can't tell.
     
  15. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hell no, you oughta know better than that. I was referring to how
    JollyOgre would get so testy with people he was helping.
     
  16. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just checking. I have a tendency to piss people off without having the faintest idea that I'm doing it, or what I'm doing that's pissing them off, so I get a little jumpy when people say things like what you said -- kinda like a blind person would be nervous walking near the edge of the Grand Canyon.

    EDIT: SO WHAT WAS THE FUCKING SOLUTION TO YOUR PROBLEM, BOUWNT? Sheesh.
     

Share This Page