Computer help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Repentinus, Oct 15, 2007.

  1. Repentinus

    Repentinus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    My wife's computer's PSU started ticking, which I figured was a bad thing. So I replaced said PSU with a bigger, better one. Now it constantly hangs on the windows boot splash screen.

    If I start it up in safe mode everything boots up fine, but if I try to boot normally it gets stuck. Any idea's?

    Its a BFG 650 Watt.
    It has 2 12v rails rated at 40amps combined (20amps each) which is plenty for what I have in there. (It's an old system.)
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2007
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Maybe there's a problem with the new one.

    It happens.

    Which make and model did you get?
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I have a feeling the "bigger" "badder" unit was either a generic model or an antec -- neither are recommended.
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    [​IMG]
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    the truth hurts, doc.
     
  6. Repentinus

    Repentinus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    No it truly was a better PSU...see edit above!
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    run prime95 for a few hours, and memtest86... if those work w/o issue, then it's a software prob.
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    No, actually it doesn't.

    Especially when Antec makes so many good power supplies right now.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    FUCKING COMEDIANlc.
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    You must be talking about that guy in post# 4


    :mamoru:
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no, you. Antec is still shit.
     

Share This Page