Computer help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by trez157, Mar 13, 2005.

  1. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    Sorry if this doesnt make sense, dont have much time.

    My computer has been freezing randomly all of a sudden.
    It's a WinXP Corp
    P4 2.0 boosted to 2.2
    512 Mushkin PC3000 DDR Ram
    9600XT


    Its been running great forever. Now it just freezes up at random times. Just locks up completely, I lose mouse and Keyboard function. I dont know why. Could my Ram be going bad?
     
  2. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    run memtest on the ram. if okay, clock it back down. what kind of temps you running?
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    buy a legit copy of windows... problem solved.
     
  4. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

    :ugh:

    I'm not even going to comment on that one. I'm gonna hit the hay now.

    By the way - Your CPU may be overheating ;).
     
  5. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    How do you know it's not legit?
     
  6. trez157

    trez157 You can't trust freedom when it's not in your hand

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cali
    By the way guys, I switched the RAM to another slot and the problem seems to have gone away. We'll see though
     
  7. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
  8. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

  9. badguy106

    badguy106 Location:Tn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    0
    seems to just be his nature. really sad.
     
  10. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

    Yeah, I never thought of that before. It is really sad :wtc: .
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I'm right, arn't I?

    You said XP Corp... If you had a legit copy, you'd be going through your IT department, and not OT...

    I am willing to put money it's not legit.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I told him to buy a legit copy of windows to replace his hacked copy. In the process, his software-related problem would undoubtedly be solved...

    How is this not a REASONABLE solution?
     
  13. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    i have no idea why you think a licensing issue would cause lockups. hacked versions don't just start locking up anymore than corp license keys or retail copies.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    hacked versions can lockup more than a legal copy -- cd's modified from the guenuine MS copy can have any number of modifications and any number of non-stock complications. But that really isn't the point, here.

    furthermore, why would we support his piracy? A format would surely solve his software problem, and purchasing a legal license would solve his criminal problem. My suggestion to buy a legal copy not only upholds the law of the land, but it also directly solves his concern. :mamoru:
     
  15. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    i think your jump in conclusions is rather large in this case. i see no reason to expect lockups to be caused by a licensing issue when there are so many more likely reasons. again - you seem to be just trolling along.
     
  16. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

    HAHA! Ditto that. I've had no problems with Longhorn, which is an Alpha :rolleyes: .
     
  17. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    an alpha release and a hacked copy are very different. Please lookup the difference between alpha/beta/production and legit/hacked.
     
  18. Sonar_un

    Sonar_un Prowler Orange

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Ok, the XP Pro Corporate edition is no different than any other copy. It is a genuine Microsoft product without the activation features. Having a legit copy would not fix his problems in this case.

    However col_panic was on the right track with trying to run a memory diagnostic first. (http://www.memtest.org). Once you have determined your memory is fine, I would check for a heat related issue. Check to make sure your power supply fan is in fact running. Also you may have either a blown power supply which is having trouble supplying enough voltage to the motherboard, or you also may have a motherboard problem. One of the first signs of a bad motherboard would be having blown capicators. Check to make sure none of your capicators are convex on top. They should be perfectly flat on top, if they aren't.. then you have a bad motherboard.
     
  19. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

    I know the difference, silly :cool:.
     
  20. badjasper

    badjasper Guest

    OS's aside....Have you installed any new programs or hardware? If yes, did the problem start after that? If yes, then there's your problem. Older device drivers and DLL's can cause intermittent lockups and freezing. Also, How hot is your system getting? Heat kills! If changing your RAM to a different socket fixed the problem then, tear your PC down, clean and dust everything including your RAM sockets and cable connecters. Dirt and dust is also a killer. More so if you smoke! Never OC your processer unless you have taken the steps to ensure that you can dissipate the extra heat that is generated.
     
  21. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

    That's why I bought an MGE Viper 2.0 case. It's AMD Opteron approved, and a fucking tank.

    It keeps my dual 2600+/9700 Pro @ 85 degrees under load.

    On top of that, it's stock PSU handles it all without a single problem.
     
  22. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    85 degrees is mighty high if you're talking celcius...
     
  23. FreeSpace

    FreeSpace Guest

    I'm talking Farenheit. I'm an American :p !

    Note to neo-cons: Kill the English measurement system plz kthxbye.
     
  24. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    dunno, I'm american and for computer-related temps, we always used celcius... seemed the better system for the purpose. Not to mention measurements in mm/cm/m are so much easier to work with (and provide better resolution) than the imperial system.
     
  25. Weiner

    Weiner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    38,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    :werd: Thank god we use metric in Australia :bowdown:
     

Share This Page