Computer Gurus - Wireless Routers and Cordless Phones

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TriShield, Apr 29, 2004.

  1. TriShield

    TriShield Super Moderator® Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2001
    Messages:
    132,822
    Likes Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PRESIDENTIAL TOWER, GREAT AGAIN, NY
    I'm looking to get a wireless router, but I've been told cordless phones will screw them up, is that true?

    What are some good brands of wireless routers to look at?

    Help a brutha out. :o
     
  2. scrotomus

    scrotomus you're a scumbag

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    70,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    anything but linksys 'g'
     
  3. ChillerTwist

    ChillerTwist New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the darkness
  4. killerZees

    killerZees OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    17,442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Jersey Boi
    very true, I work for d-link I see it all the time.
     
  5. daNattyFatty

    daNattyFatty New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2001
    Messages:
    7,349
    Likes Received:
    0
    isn't it a certain bandwidth of cordless phones that'll mess with it?
     
  6. aznboi320

    aznboi320 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    31,183
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    On a kayak
    the panasonic never does anything to my netgear router
     
  7. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,233
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    I find myself in America.
    Very unlikely. And don't get an -A just because the sales person said you have to.
     
  8. TriShield

    TriShield Super Moderator® Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2001
    Messages:
    132,822
    Likes Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PRESIDENTIAL TOWER, GREAT AGAIN, NY
    My phone is a 2.4Ghz, and I was told that it will upset the network if I use it while online...
     
  9. TriShield

    TriShield Super Moderator® Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2001
    Messages:
    132,822
    Likes Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PRESIDENTIAL TOWER, GREAT AGAIN, NY
    I was looking at D-Links. :o
     
  10. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,233
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    I find myself in America.
    You were told wrong; or it's very unlikely
     
  11. majpayne1

    majpayne1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    9,435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    as long as they aren't on the same frequency it shouldn't interfere
     
  12. eviltommy

    eviltommy is a creep.

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    detroit.
    FUCK YOUR COMPANY and thanks for RMAing my POS DWL-650+ with a dirty used older one that was also broken..

    anyways...

    right now im using the buffalo g router and i love it. the buffalo internally is identical to the linksys g router. however the linksys has a hacked firmware floating around with amazing option sets.

    ive gone thru alot of shitty routers (SMC, Siemens and D-Link(as noted above) and so far this has been the best.

    oh yeah, using channel 11 instead of 6 usually steers clear of cordless phone traffic.
     
  13. jaydub

    jaydub Every calling is great when greatly pursued.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    88,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a linksys G router, four cards, six cordless 2.4GHz phones, three cellphones, and a bunch of other RF shit and have never had a problem. :o
     
  14. TriShield

    TriShield Super Moderator® Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2001
    Messages:
    132,822
    Likes Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PRESIDENTIAL TOWER, GREAT AGAIN, NY
    So I need a router that is not 2.4Ghz.
     
  15. jaydub

    jaydub Every calling is great when greatly pursued.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    88,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    My mom has the D-Link setup. Every time she restarts her laptop, the drivers for the card somehow become corrupted and it doesn't search for any networks any longer. Reloaded windows, same thing. Tried it on my laptop, same thing. Tried another d-link card, same thing.

    Tried my Linksys card, no troubles at all. :x:
     
  16. jaydub

    jaydub Every calling is great when greatly pursued.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    88,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    it wont make any difference, you won't get interference issues, and if by some strange occurrance you did, you can change the frequency in the router's settings.
     
  17. Slimmy

    Slimmy Get Richt or Die Trying

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    135,671
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    I got a Netgear MR814, cheap and works perfectly fine.
     
  18. TriShield

    TriShield Super Moderator® Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2001
    Messages:
    132,822
    Likes Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PRESIDENTIAL TOWER, GREAT AGAIN, NY
    :cool:

    So D-Link = teh suck?

    What are some other good brands? How's Microsoft?
     
  19. jaydub

    jaydub Every calling is great when greatly pursued.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    88,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldn't buy microsoft networking equipment. That's like buying McDonald's tires.
     
  20. daydreamer

    daydreamer Guest

    the VTEC phones uses a 2.4ghz frequency that actually runs slightly lower and it fluctuates frequencies.. as far as ive seen the only phone that really has problems with wireless network are the VTEC phones.. cause they SUCK.. if you get a good phone it should have no interference with the wireless network

    p.s. you should have went HomePlug
     
  21. toraji

    toraji New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    6,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    車の中
    just make sure your cordless phone and your router run off different frequencies. Then theres not a problem
     
  22. TriShield

    TriShield Super Moderator® Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2001
    Messages:
    132,822
    Likes Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PRESIDENTIAL TOWER, GREAT AGAIN, NY
  23. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    VERY unlikely.

    and a good router (the linksys wireless-g router does) will have an option to change frequency channels so in the unlikely event yours is a problem.. you can fix it.
     
  24. CowboysJunkie

    CowboysJunkie Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wherever the Cowboys game is on...
    I have a linksys, and put it on channel 9....but my 2.4 Ghz phone would jump channels from time to time. So sometimes I'd get a call, and get kicked off my network. It does happen. So I got a 5.8 Ghz phone. No more problems.
     
  25. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    funny, i am taking a security class this week and this is one of the questions. we agreed it is possible, but not likely. i have had WAP on the same rack as the base for my cordless 2.4 GHz phone with no problem. i wouldn't worry about it.
     

Share This Page