Computer Freezing Randomly....

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by FindersKeepers, Dec 28, 2003.

  1. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Its not overheating
    its not the cpu
    Its not bad Ram
    I unhooked everything extra (1394 header and usb/diag header, and digital sound header)

    Mostly happens when i go to print. It'll print 1/4 of the picture/document thent he whole computer will just LOCK up. Has done this when scanning also, gets 3/4 of the way done and locks..

    Sometimes just normal use will just lock it up too.

    Now i normally wouldnt ask for help, i manage a computer store with my dad, but sometimes, you just need other peoples help and opinions when something is baffling you

    Here is the specs on the system

    MSI k7n2 delta ILSR mobo
    AMD 1400 Athlon XP (running at 1402mhz)
    256mb Kingston Hyper X 3200A DDR Ram
    WD 120gb main drive
    IBM 80 gb Music Storage Drive
    Asus 0402p/d dvdrw
    asus 1610a cdrw
    Enermax 3171 case with enermax 350watt PS
    ATI all in wonder radeon 7500 agp is the only add in card.
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Printer and scanner are using the LPT (Printer Port) or USB?
     
  3. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida

    usb, guess i should clarify that

    Printer is a HP 3500 Series Deskjet.
    Scanner is a Canon FB620u

    BUT, they can be the only device plugged in and it still happens... right not the computers been working ok, if i go to print i guarentee it;ll freeze, if i scan it'lll most likely work now
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Hmm - well something to look at might be your USB settings in the BIOS - try looking for the reserve IRQ for USB - or anything related to it.
     
  5. ChosenGSR

    ChosenGSR Mama always said you'd be the chosen one

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    50,993
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    HoCo, MD
    I know you already said its not overheating, but from my experience alot of the lockups are due to power supply problems. It shouldn't take long to swap a different one in and see what that does.
     
  6. chairman

    chairman Guest

    Are you runing the latest BIOS Revision?
     

Share This Page