Computer at work will not recognize any cd/dvd in both drives

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ssj4gogita4, Sep 24, 2009.

  1. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    I have a cd & dvd drive that will not work if I insert any disc. It started up a couple weeks ago out of nowhere. I have not changed any settings.

    I've tried many solutions I've look up online but none are working.


    Anyone have a workable solution?
     
  2. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    We have that happening here alot, we have a reg file that fixed it. Do you want to try that?? It's possible you've already tried it though ...
     
  3. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    CD Drives do die too...
     
  4. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    Yes, please.

    I know that but fyi they are seperate drives. Neither one will recognize anything.
     
  5. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    You installed some shitty burning software or something that interacts with the drive
     
  6. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    Never installed anything :dunno:
     
  7. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    Nope
     
  8. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Are both drives showing up in my Computer? You can go into device manager and delete the IDE controllers (considering these are IDE drives) and reboot.
     
  9. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    I've tried un-installing both drives (they also both appear in My Computer) and restarted but it did not fix.

    And which IDE controller would I need to un-install (if needed) and if I restarted, would they come back?

    [​IMG]
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Have you moved them to another computer just to eliminate whether it's a hardware problem yet?
     
  11. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
  12. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    The IDE controller... Did you open up the case? Is the IDE cable(s) on there good?
     
  13. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,458
    Likes Received:
    12
    why not let the IT people deal with it?
     
  14. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should have been the first thing you did.

    If you delete ALL the IDE controllers and reboot the machine Windows will work out reinstalling the IDE controllers. You won't break anything.

    Best answer is call IT support. Dude, you are gonna fuck with this machine, nothing is gonna work and then you are gonna call them and they are gonna be like, 'You did what?'.
    They are gonna write down your extension and from here on out you will be known as that bonehead that makes small problems big problems.
     
  15. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    Bonehead :hahano:

    Yes, that was the first thing I did. I made sure all the cables were still in there good.

    I probably will.
     
  16. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    That website I pointed you to didn't help I take it??
     
  17. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    No. It told me I had everything fixed :\
     
  18. BladedThesis

    BladedThesis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    9,497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aged laser?
    Happened to mine recently.
     
  19. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    Any chance IT disabled the drives with a GPO to keep you from listening to John Mayer and/or stealing nuclear secrets?
     
  20. ssj4gogita4

    ssj4gogita4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    32,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    Would never listen to john mayer :rofl:
     
  21. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Both drives at the same time? It's possible, but I doubt it...
     

Share This Page