MIL Combat Engineer (21B)

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by The Militant, Jan 7, 2008.

1. The Militant

The Militant THE FUTURE

I go to MEPS on thursday to re-negotiate the contract a wee bit. What do you guys think? I'm having my ship date moved up with the opportunity to change up my MOS. I'm 88N right now and it seems fine but after some research it seems like it will be boring. I truly don't know till I've done it I assume but I'd rather get some insight from you guys to help me decide on some things. I remember seeing alot of engineer jobs including 21b on my MOS list when I chose last, any of you have experience or stories as well as any suggestions for other reserve MOS's as well? I'm doing reserves through collegio

2. kidhero

kidhero not really a hero, really just a big fat phony

that old guy and his son are combat engineers. i'm a marine combat engineer which is based on the army MOS but split into two fields, combat arms and field support. overall it's a mixture of making shit and blowing up shit.

3. Ranger-AO

Ranger-AO I'm here for the Taliban party. Moderator

:hahano:

When my son deployed in 2005 as a 21B he was working with Iraqi special forces in and around Samara, pretty much doing infantry work with UXO/IED defeat stuff thrown in. Kicking in doors, night raids on suspected insurgent compounds, etc. His current deployment is the opposite extreme. He's building Iraqi Police and Army compounds and checkpoints. He recently also became a flamethrower instructor. Not sure what they use that for in-country, but I'm guessing it's something to do with clearing areas of brush and debris.

This is my first deployment with the Army, and I'm doing route clearance - looking for any type of explosive devices in and around Baghdad (IED, UXO, HME, etc.). I've also gone on several missions with infantry units, looking for remains of soldiers that were kidnapped. We used a portable ground penetrating radar for those missions.