A&P Colour profile help

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by MSTRBKR, Jun 8, 2008.

  1. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    I'm editing my RAW photos in LR 1.4 and exporting to PhotoShop CS3 as .jpg to remove some lens flare and some marks that were on my sensor.

    When I export them using LR and open them in CS3, the colours look more saturated :wtc:

    What do I need to do to match them up?
     
  2. Spurious

    Spurious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas Bans: 5
    Unify the color profiles used by LR/PS and Windows/OSX.
     
  3. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Point me in the right direction? :x:
     
  4. Spurious

    Spurious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas Bans: 5
    It's in the settings of each app and in the control panel of windows. :dunno:
     
  5. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    what's colour :hsughno:
     
  6. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    :werd:

    I think photoshop defaults to sRGB while lightroom defaults to the adobe colorspace
     
  7. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Well that's retarded. I'll have a look about for the options I guess.
     
  8. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Har Har Har :hs:
     
  9. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    :love:
     
  10. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Just set both to 16Bit ProPhoto RGB.

    Apparently it's best for preserving colour from LR.

    Testing :x:
     
  11. Spurious

    Spurious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas Bans: 5
    Good luck broski. Color is one of THE most annoying things about photography, because ProPhoto is great for computers, but if you try to print from it and the printer doesn't support it, things can get hairy.
     
  12. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Oh cool. That didn't work much :wtc:

    In LR under Preferences is 'External Editing' where I'm changing the settings.

    [​IMG]

    The first settings there are for PS but it can't find it. So I added it on another one below. Is there some kind of export to photoshop option built in maybe?

    n.b. I switched to TIFF format to preserve as much colour information as possible.
     
  13. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Just found this. Nice feature. Still no joy.
     
  14. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    this on a macbook pro?
     
  15. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Windoze :hs:

    I just set my monitor to ProPhoto because it was on the Samsung one. But that didn't do it either.
     
  16. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    do you have any sort of softproofing turned on in Photoshop?

    If yes, turn it off. If no, try turning it on, and set it to softproof 'monitor RGB'
     
  17. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    oh, and if you open up the jpg in a web browser, which version does it resemble? LR or PS?
     
  18. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    I don't know where that is in PS. Searched it and found nothing to say where is it either.
     
  19. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    ok, no problem.

    view>proof setup> monitor RGB
     
  20. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    and turn off the rest of the stuff you already did. Your monitor should NOT be in prophoto. Your monitor should be set to whatever calibration profile you're using.

    If you're monitor isn't calibrated, that could very well be a bigger problem than your color shift.
     
  21. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    In MS photo viewer its closer to LR, not exact. For some reason in MS photo viewer, the whites are a magnolia colour.

    In firefox it is exactly the same as the LR version.

    I'll do that now.

    I'll switch it back to the calibrated one I did when I got it.
     
  22. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    :bowdown:

    Holy shit that did it :h5:

    Cheeeeeeers man :bigthumb:
     
  23. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    It's very very close to it. Should LR be set in this way also somehow?
     
  24. Dwight Schrute

    Dwight Schrute New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    LR uses a (modified) ProPhoto RGB color space. Because you shoot raw, set Photoshop to ProPhoto RGB under Edit->Color Settings. Do all your edits in ProPhoto RGB.

    If you're posting your photos on the web, convert them sRGB beforehand. Likewise if you're printing, unless your print house supports a different color space, like AdobeRGB.

    Don't upconvert between color spaces. sRGB is smaller than AdobeRGB which is smaller than ProPhoto RGB.

    You should also calibrate your monitor if you can.
     
  25. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Way to read the thread.

    ________________________

    They actually aren't the same. But very, very close.

    Both are on ProPhotoRGB.
    Monitor is calibrated with the Samsung software.
    PhotoShop's proof setup is on Monitor RGB.
     

Share This Page