A&P Color Profile Help (Cross Post in the Mac Shack)

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by ( * )( * ), Mar 12, 2008.

  1. ( * )( * )

    ( * )( * ) OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone learn me why my colors are off? :hs:

    http://forums.offtopic.com/showthread.php?p=96138805#post96138805

     
  2. Keiphus

    Keiphus my dog eats bears

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,138
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had some very weird and similar problems with some websites I've been working on lately. Is this a new problem for you?

    I hadn't payed ALOT of attention on the MAC, but I noticed it did happen after a FF update. I think it's a recent occurrence though... Post up if you find the solution.
     
  3. Keiphus

    Keiphus my dog eats bears

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, after reading your description, I don't know...

    Thinking about it more,
    I designed a site in PS on a PC, looked fine. Uploaded it and looked fine in IE,FF,Opera.

    Went to a MAC, looked fine in FF, but in Safari it looked all fucked up.

    Not sure what the deal is.... in for the answer though too.

    Btw, you checked to make sure CS3 was in the correct color space, etc I'm assuming...
     
  4. Jhegro

    Jhegro wtf is a jhegro?

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Safari can read the embedded color profile of the picture and displays it as such. firefox lacks this, and therefore the colors are off. firefox beta 3 is supposed to fix this problem

    a quick google search will yield this:
    http://www.ofzenandcomputing.com/zanswers/813
     
  5. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,624
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    shoulda bought a PC. :)
     
  6. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    What color profile are you using to work on?

    Are you converting your image to a different color profile when saving?

    I'm going to guess your images are either using prophoto or adobeRGB to edit your images, and are leaving them in that profile when you save as jpgs.

    If you would, go into photoshop, open an image, go to 'convert to profile', select sRGB as the output profile, then save it.

    Open the new image in firefox, and see if that looks any different.

    If it does, you may have to take a hard look at how your profiles are setup, and decide what profile you want to work in.

    I keep all of my images in ProPhoto, because 99% of my workflow ends up at the printer, not on the internets, and prophoto is a larger color space, which gives me a more accurate print. If I do want to put something on the web, I then convert the profile to sRGB and save a jpg, which I then put up on the web.

    Gimme a minute, and i'll post one 'converted' image, and one that I left in prophoto, and you can compare the differences on your mac.
     
  7. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    Ok.

    These are the exact same image. All I did was save one while still in the prophoto profile, then I converted the profile to sRGB, and saved another copy.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    get over yourself...
     
  9. SugarCoatedSour

    SugarCoatedSour Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    53,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glenview, IL
    Not really that different than the 'should've bought a canon' type posts. :o
     
  10. Devin

    Devin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I have had similar problem. The web colors are insane . Keep me updated if you figure this out .
     
  11. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    is my post invisible?
     
  12. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    Fellas,

    If your profiles are correct, recalibrate your monitors at 2.2 gamma and D65.

    system preferences>displays>color>calibrate>2.2 + D65.
     
  13. Devin

    Devin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    awww 2.2 : \. I send a lot of shit to print . 2.2 ruins prints for me .
     
  14. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    those are retarded too
     
  15. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    why does 2.2 ruin prints? where do you send things to print? why do they insist on 1.8?

    FWIW, I calibrate all of our printers and macs at school to 2.2 so they match the PC's and all non-color managed systems, and they all print perfectly.
     
  16. Devin

    Devin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I send all my mag stuff @ 1.8 and at work I'm printing on a Epson 7800 Pro. Everything I've sent through it at 2.2 is way lighter than I want .
     
  17. ( * )( * )

    ( * )( * ) OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,518
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm saving all jpgs in SRGB for web, never adobeRGB. It has to be something with the icc profile the i1 creates. When I choose the default 'Color LCD' profile under sys pref/display/color, everything looks ok, in CS3, FF, and Safari. Once I select the new profile, everything gets jacked up. Is anyone else using an i1 with a MAC?




     
  18. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    ok, it looks like your fix is also the difference between 1.8 and 2.2. Have you tried that yet?

    I use the Huey Pro in the mac classrooms, but I do have the i1 equipment. I'll try that out when I get to work this morning and let you know.

    FWIW, I can replicate your problem by turning the mbp i'm on right now back to 1.8.


    DEVIN - Another way you can do it, albeit temporary, is to softproof for 'Monitor RGB' in photoshop before outputting for web.

    View>proof colors>Monitor RGB, then apple+Y to turn it on and off.

    If you've edited your images in 1.8, I'm not sure if there's an easy way to switch to 2.2 without having to correct the color shift. It's like editing your pictures on a non-calibrated display, only to discover they have a green tint when you get to a calibrated display - eventually you're going to have to re-edit to get rid of the green shift...
     
  19. ( * )( * )

    ( * )( * ) OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,518
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried your 'fix' by creating a profile, but it's not entirely accurate. It sure beats the blue->purple shift, but it's not a fix. What's really odd, is that while I have images open in CS/FF/Safari, and make the profile change, everything gets 'corrected', but once I close everything out and re-open, it reverts back to the color shift. Time to open a ticket with xrite. :wtc:

    Thanks for your help.

     
  20. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    i don't use anything other than Color LCD because the other default profiles aren't setup to any particular preferences. They expect you to edit the other profiles to your liking but the Color LCD profile is very well optimized for every day use.
     
  21. ( * )( * )

    ( * )( * ) OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well....tested the i1display on 3 other apple machines, turns out it's an issue with the i1 not playing nice with the OS. Used the latest software from xrite, tested on Leopard and Tiger, all 3 had the same issue. xrite has yet to get back to me, but it's definitely a compatibility issue. :wtc:
     
  22. Spurious

    Spurious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas Bans: 5
    When does this "just work" thing kick in? :mamoru:
     
  23. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    I appreciate you keeping me up to date on this... If you could, post the solution when you find it....

    I have an i1 setup that primarily gets used on the PC's, since we equip all of the mac's with Huey pro's...


    But I much prefer the i1.
     

Share This Page