Coding a photo gallery

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Tonster MBA, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. Tonster MBA

    Tonster MBA OT'r of the Year 2013 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,422
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    LA
    I recently bought a website to host and display all my photos,

    The only problem is i dont know the most efficient way to display them. Besides linking each photo individually, how can i have a large gallery and have it display properly.

    -I have about 1000 photos

    -I have adobe cs3

    -I have apature

    Any suggestions?

    I am new at this go easy on me!
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Photoshop has a built in image gallery maker under File -> Automate -> Web Photo Gallery.

    I usually use the Windows HTML slideshow powertoy.

    The 2 above are pretty basic. I'm not sure how fancy you'll want it.
     
  3. Tonster MBA

    Tonster MBA OT'r of the Year 2013 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,422
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    LA
    I already did the web photo gallery with oe of my alubms, cool great! but now hope do i code that into my site? it saves the gallery as like 15 files
    and i tried putting the code directly into where i wanted it put it didnt work :(


    here is my site


    www.bjjphotos.com

    its very basic
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Upload the photo gallery files made to a folder on your website and put a link on your site to the html file(s).
     
  5. Tonster MBA

    Tonster MBA OT'r of the Year 2013 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,422
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    LA
    okay.... ill try brb
     
  6. Tonster MBA

    Tonster MBA OT'r of the Year 2013 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,422
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    LA
    My file manager isnt letting me upload the file folder, how can i put load them all with out having to upload each on individual
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    If you want lots of features, run Gallery2. If you want light weight build your own in PHP.

    I made one that just follows the dir structure in a specificed directory -- each sub directory is an album, and any files within are "images" and it generates thumbnails on the fly. Works for my purposes and lets me use FTP without any stupid DBs or utilities to worry about.
     
  8. Tonster MBA

    Tonster MBA OT'r of the Year 2013 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,422
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    LA
    dude thanks that is exactly what i am lookig for


    exactly i hvae no clue what that second paragraph even means.

    misunderstood vocab:

    DIR -structure
    speicifed directory -
    generating on the fly-
    DB's=
    utilities-

    But hey i know what thumbnails and FTP means.
     

Share This Page