MIL coast guard is looking more and more attractive

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by The Ripper, Nov 20, 2007.

1. The Ripper

The Ripper New Member

So ever since I graduated from college Ive been having trouble getting a job. All the police departments and government agencies have gone on hiring freezes because of tax cuts and have just lifted them. I have a B.S. in criminal justice and every where I look its one big catch 22. Every one wants work experience but to get the work experience I need a job. Its been sucking. I was thinking about going coast guard. Im going to go with a few of my friends to a coast guard recruiter. Im debating doing IT with the coast guard.

Any one have any experiences with the guard or any info they can give me. Any jobs worth going after and information about their ocs programs.

2. SiegG

SiegG The real-life Dale Gribble

My best friend leaves for Cape May on the 11th of Dec.....he and I have had the same hiring issues with LE, so he went that route (he just got married, his wife forbids IQ and his job will keep him out) and I went the Army route. If I'd had a four year or was you, I'd take the officer route but that's just me.

3. NPH

NPH Guest

i was expecting some female member pics

4. NPH

NPH Guest

Wow, that sucks. Glad I went military first. I'm close to my associates in criminal justice. Most places either look at the military experience over the college or want that plus 60 credits as well. I'm almost there. :hsd:

Just curious though, why the Coast Guard? Your post didn't mention anything about why you prefer that over the other services? I'd go USAF for technical jobs.

5. whitecouch

whitecouch spendin' our golden years in OT Supporter

Getting a good job usually requires getting a lower level job with the intention of moving up. Let them know in the interview that you have every qualification to serve in a higher capacity with the exception of on the job experience.

6. s3rca

s3rca New Member