Cloning an OS drive...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by HisXLNC, Dec 30, 2008.

  1. HisXLNC

    HisXLNC ๑۩۞۩๑ Hot ๑۩۞۩๑

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2000
    Messages:
    137,235
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Island of Electronicus
    My OS drive is dual boot (XP Home and XP x64). I'm running out of space in both partitions (It's an old 40GB drive). I'd like to upgrade to a larger boot drive without reinstalling the OSes and tons of software.

    Is there a way I can clone my OS drive to a larger drive and be able to boot from it?

    I've been looking at Arconis True Image and it looks like it may do what I want. It also supports cloning to USB drives which would help. That way I don't have to uninstall my slave drive to create the clone.
     
  2. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Out of curiosity, why do you have two versions of XP installed on the same HD?
     
  3. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Acronis, Symantec Ghost. Any drive clone software should do...
     
  4. HisXLNC

    HisXLNC ๑۩۞۩๑ Hot ๑۩۞۩๑

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2000
    Messages:
    137,235
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Island of Electronicus
    x64 was just for testing software.
     
  5. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    :eek: HisXLNC still exists? Holy shit....

    Honestly I'd go download a linux livecd (sysrescd is good for this) and use DD to clone the partitions/drive
     
  6. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,471
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    I've been using Clonezilla lately with good results.
     
  7. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    if you buy a seagate drive, you can download the seatools from their website and it will do exactly what you need. I've used it a ton of times and it's worked like a charm.
     
  8. HisXLNC

    HisXLNC ๑۩۞۩๑ Hot ๑۩۞۩๑

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2000
    Messages:
    137,235
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Island of Electronicus
    I'm wondering how does the partitioning on the new drive work? Will it clone the two source partitions and leave an empty third partition on the target?
     
  9. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    Acronis lets you increase the size of partitions so it fills the new drive.
     
  10. HYBR|D

    HYBR|D Beep Beeeeee'p

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ozz

Share This Page