Clearing the Clipboard

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Burks, Oct 20, 2005.

  1. Burks

    Burks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    Working on Microsoft Excell yesterday, after several hours of work on a spreadsheet, I get the error, "Cannot clear Clipboard" and excell has to close, well it closed without backing up the file I was currently working on and I lost all of the info and had to restart

    Is there a keyboard shortcut that will clear the clipboard?

    I cant find anywhere where it allows for this to be forced
     
  2. AeroSquid

    AeroSquid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9,627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    i don't know of any in XP. you might me able to write a macro in Excel to do it. OR http://www.openoffice.org/ might work bettah ;)
     
  3. Burks

    Burks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    How would that program work better?

    Does it not use Clipboard to store its copying and pasting duties?

    How does that program work comparing to microsoft office?

    thanks for the link though, I am still interested in a shortcut to clear clipboard, no matter which program I am using
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Start -> Run -> clipbrd32.exe
     
  5. Burks

    Burks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    I just tried that on my win Xp OS and it said it couldnt find the program

    what kind of program is that and what OS's does it apppear on?

    and what can you do inside it?

    sounds interesting
     
  6. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make a macro in Excel with this as your command:

    Application.CutCopyMode = False

    It will clear you clipboard for you. You can set it to a button or a shortcut key.
     
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    It's just a better program. Better written and nicer to use.

    But, I can't tell you why it's better for your purposes. It's open source, so you can download it and try it out yourself, then decide whether you like it better.
     
  8. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Visual Basic...

    Clipboard.Clear
     
  9. Burks

    Burks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    so it will only clear clipboard when i want to?

    How do you program in a macro by placing the macro commands?

    I thought you had to start the macro pgm to record, perform what you wanted the macro to be and then stop recording

    how do you place this into a macro?

    thanks, I do appreciate the command though
     
  10. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    start > run > clipbrd
     
  11. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alt+F11

    Newer versions of Office have a menu manager that you can record a macro to clearing if VBA isn't your thing.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2005
  12. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think in 2000 you go View > Toolbars > then click the icon for clear clipboard. You can record that to a macro if you wish.
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I goofed. "clipbrd.exe" not "clipbrd32.exe"
     

Share This Page