Cisco 2524 and Ethernet AUI

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Big_Luke, Feb 24, 2004.

  1. Big_Luke

    Big_Luke serious as dick cancer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    25,008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AUS TEX
    I'm pretty sure it won't work but I might as well ask. I know the Cisco 2524 has a built in 10baseT port on the router. If I plug in a 10baseT ethernet AUI into the AUI port, will IOS see that as two ethernet ports on the router? What if I upgraded to 12.x?
     
  2. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    People have been doing that for a long time. :dunno:
     
  3. Big_Luke

    Big_Luke serious as dick cancer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    25,008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AUS TEX

    so I can hook up a AUI and have two usuable ethernet ports on the router? It will show up as e0 and e1 on the router?
     
  4. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    I'm no Cisco expert but I think so.

    I have heard that people buy the 2524s and an ethernet AUI and use them on their local networks for training and stuff.
     
  5. Big_Luke

    Big_Luke serious as dick cancer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    25,008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AUS TEX

    Just all of the websites I've seeen when researching the 2524 said I can run the built in 10baseT OR the AUI. I wonder if it is possible if I upgrade to 12.x if I can do it. :x:
     
  6. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Post in OT and metion balzz, f1, sheep, canada etc. Guaranteed answer.
     
  7. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    :rofl:
     

Share This Page