Cisco 12.3 IOS and trunking on a 2650XM

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Jackie Treehorn, Jul 10, 2003.

  1. Jackie Treehorn

    Jackie Treehorn Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    23,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wtf... in 12.2 of IOS you could just do a "encapsulation isl" on the sub interface, now when I create a sub interface there is no "encapsulation" at all. How the hell do I turn on trunking?! I haven't found anything on Cisco's site yet... Anyone?
     
  2. Mikel

    Mikel .

    Joined:
    May 17, 2000
    Messages:
    227,897
    Likes Received:
    305
    Location:
    38103
    Just checked it out on a 3640 with 12.3.1a. Takes the command fine. Wanna PM me your whole config?
     
  3. Mikel

    Mikel .

    Joined:
    May 17, 2000
    Messages:
    227,897
    Likes Received:
    305
    Location:
    38103
    Have you tried encap dot1q? Pretty much all the feature sets support 802.1q and ISL trunking.

    Feature SetImage NameDRAMFlashADVANCED ENTERPRISE SERVICESView Details c2600-adventerprisek9-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    ADVANCED IP SERVICESView Details c2600-advipservicesk9-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    ADVANCED SECURITYView Details c2600-advsecurityk9-mz.12.3-1a
    64
    16
    ENTERPRISE BASEView Details c2600-entbase-mz.12.3-1a
    64
    16
    ENTERPRISE PLUS IPSEC 3DESView Details c2600-jk9s-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    ENTERPRISE PLUS/H323 MCMView Details c2600-jsx-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    ENTERPRISE PLUSView Details c2600-js-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    ENTERPRISE SERVICESView Details c2600-entservicesk9-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    ENTERPRISE SSGView Details c2600-g4js-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    ENTERPRISE/FW/IDS PLUS IPSEC 3DESView Details c2600-jk9o3s-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    ENTERPRISE/SNASW PLUS IPSEC 3DESView Details c2600-a3jk9s-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    ENTERPRISE/SNASW PLUSView Details c2600-a3js-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    IP BASEView Details c2600-ipbase-mz.12.3-1a
    64
    16
    IP PLUS IPSEC 3DESView Details c2600-ik9s-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    IP PLUSView Details c2600-is-mz.12.3-1a
    64
    32
    IP VOICEView Details c2600-ipvoice-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    IP/FW/IDS PLUS IPSEC 3DESView Details c2600-ik9o3s-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    IP/FW/IDS PLUS IPSEC 56View Details c2600-ik8o3s-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    IP/IPX/APPLETALK PLUS FW/IDSView Details c2600-bino3s-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    IP/IPX/APPLETALK PLUSView Details c2600-bins-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    SP SERVICESView Details c2600-spservicesk9-mz.12.3-1a
    96
    32
    TELCO FEATURE SETView Details c2600-telco-mz.12.3-1a
    48
    16
    VOICE IP TO IP VOICE GATEWAY IPSEC 3DESView Details c2600-jk9s2-mz.12.3-1a
    128
    32
    VOICE IP TO IP VOICE GATEWAYView Details c2600-js2-mz.12.3-1a
    128
    32
     
  4. Mikel

    Mikel .

    Joined:
    May 17, 2000
    Messages:
    227,897
    Likes Received:
    305
    Location:
    38103
    I don't have any 2650XMs at my disposal to test, but all the command's working fine on a few other boxes.
     
  5. Jackie Treehorn

    Jackie Treehorn Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    23,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nevermind... how dumb... wrong code.

    Apparently the "IP only" code doesn't have that feature set.

    I was using c2600-i-mz.123-1a.bin

    Loaded c2600-is-mz.123-1.bin works fine... go figure.

    Thanks Mikel
     

Share This Page