Choosing the right power supply.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SugarCoatedSour, Jul 14, 2004.

  1. SugarCoatedSour

    SugarCoatedSour Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    53,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glenview, IL
    I'm going to be ordering the following parts from NewEgg and I was wondering what would be the lowest wattage I could go with for a power supply to run the whole thing:

    ABIT "AN7" NForce 2 Ultra 400 Motherboard
    Athlon XP 2700+ 333 Mhz FSB 256K Cache
    512MB DDR 400 Crucial RAM
    ATI 9600XT 128MB DDR 128-Bit 8x AGP

    I've got a 300 or 330 in my current 1.3Ghz Athlon right now and I'm not sure if using that power supply will suffice.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depends on the make of your current PSU. Many cheapo brands have shitty voltage rails and will make your system unstable and some are pretty unreliable. I'd go with a good brand like antec (my fav) or enermax. What other parts do you have in there (ie: hard drives ,cd drives, fans, lights, etc.)?


    You can use this to get a ballpark figure for power needed ,but its not absolutely accurate http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
     
  3. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Antec PSUs > *
     
  4. SugarCoatedSour

    SugarCoatedSour Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    53,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glenview, IL
    I was going to go with a 330 Antec.

    For other stuff that will be in there, I'll have a 52x,32x,52 Samsung CD Burner, a 160GB Samsung, and a 40GB Maxtor. I'll have 2 fans coming with my SOHO Antec case, but I might buy additional fans to fit into the extra fan bays that it comes with.

    Does 330 sound sufficient to support all of this?
     
  5. Brian

    Brian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The 949
    i got a 300w

    with a p4 2.66
    4 sticks of 256mb
    52x cdr
    dvd burner
    one 160gb 7200rpm
    one 80gb 7200
    a audigy platinum zs with the pi card
    nvivdia 5900xtoc
    with alot of fans


    and my comp works great with a 300 watt psu
     
  6. Fantik

    Fantik Guest

    nothing under 400W
     
  7. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Are thermaltake PSU's any good? I am going to need nearly 500 watts according to that power supply calculator.
     
  8. SugarCoatedSour

    SugarCoatedSour Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    53,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glenview, IL
    I'm not sure about the Thermaltake's, but my cousin says that his Zalman has been doing him extremely well. I can't afford the same supply, so I'm probably going to go for a 300~330 watt Antec PSU.
     
  9. SugarCoatedSour

    SugarCoatedSour Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    53,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glenview, IL
    Dang, that's a lot of stuff you've got running. If your system is perfectly stable with a 300, I should have no trouble running my system.
     
  10. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have:

    XP 2000+
    2 256mb sticks pc2100
    16x DVD
    4x DVD+RW
    200gb HDD
    80gb HDD
    GFFX 256mb 5900
    Hauppauge pvr 250
    Firewire card

    400w Antec PSU
     
  11. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    :werd:
     
  12. SugarCoatedSour

    SugarCoatedSour Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    53,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glenview, IL
    Yeah, I want to go with a 400, too, but I'm a little strapped for cash, so I was hoping that a 300~330 watt would do my setup just fine.
     
  13. McClane

    McClane Who Killed Marilyn?

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2001
    Messages:
    20,250
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Houston
    you could run that easily with 300w...

    I dont get the fascination with these 400 and 500 power supplies...they are the most unnecessary thing you can waste your money on unless your trying to jump start your car off your pc or something.
     
  14. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    6 hard drives is the only reason i need such a big PSU, well according to that power supply calculator anyways.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2004

Share This Page