Chevy SSR

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by Wolvrin704, Oct 4, 2001.

1. Wolvrin704

Wolvrin704 Guest

I just recieved the new Motor Trend yesterday and it has an article on this new truck which will be a 2003 model but be available some time next year.

It looks a little larger than an S10 but it is basically a retro vehicle. The front end is based on a 50's pickup and the middle on an El Camino. It has a retractable top for the 2 passenger cab and a hardtop for the bed.

I must say that I am dissapointed by the performance numbers. I've been hearing from Chevy owners for 2 years now that when the magical SSR came out the Lightning would be getting beat all over the place. And the Chevy would be naturally aspirated to boot.
    Well here is what it has: a 5.3 Vortec V8 with 285hp instead of the expected 6.0 with 300hp. Hmmmmm, last I checked the Lightning has 380 hp. 0-60 in the SSR is 7.0, there are imports faster than that in coupe form. The Lightning is somewhere in 4-5 second range not sure off-hand. No info on 1/4 mile times yet but I'd guess its somewhere around 15 seconds, whereas the Lightning is in the 13 second range stock.
    They said they will probably increase the hp for the SSR but to kill the Lightning they have a ways to go. At first it will have a 4 speed auto only, possibly a 6 speed at some point in the future. This truck is nice looking and eventually could be a fire breathing monster but is nowhere near where all the Chevy people were telling me the last 2 years.

2. Kracka

Kracka Guest

Quite honestly it is a cool looking "concept" vehicle. Look at the PT Cruiser, there was a huge amount of attention about them when they came out and now if you go down to the dealership they just sit there and noone is buying them as much anymore. I don't think that it will sell all that great, especially the hefty price tag Chevy will most likely put on it. IMO the lightnings styling is far superior and damn it hauls ass!! :blue:

3. Wolvrin704