checking for blocked ports

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by tehexile, Sep 20, 2006.

  1. tehexile

    tehexile New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    how would i go about finding out which ports are blocked of use if i cant access the router?
     
  2. Xyroquell

    Xyroquell New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you mean incoming or outgoing ports?
     
  3. tehexile

    tehexile New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    outgoing
     
  4. Xyroquell

    Xyroquell New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's hard... You could run a portscan but you'll never know if it was the machine on the other end or the router that has a port closed.
     
  5. Lock Jaw

    Lock Jaw Custom Title OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London Ontario
  6. Xyroquell

    Xyroquell New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you know that there are 65536 ports? And if you only limit yourself to the well-known ports, you still end up with 1024 ports. Besides, the website you give tests for incoming ports... not outgoing.
     
  7. tehexile

    tehexile New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    so.. any other ideas?
     
  8. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Only way I can think of getting this done is by setting up some sort of a dummy server on every port (or as many ports as you can manage or are interested in) and then running a portscan.

    Unless theres automated tools to do it (might be), its probably not worth the bother.

    edit: what/how many ports do you wanna check for?
     
  9. tehexile

    tehexile New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just wanna check all the ports to see which ones are available for use, and which ones arent
     
  10. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    What exactly are you trying to do? Pick a port and see what happens.

    If you are behind a router, you're gonna need to forward the port anyway.
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do a google search for Angry IP Scanner. It's a free little tool that can scan every port on every IP address on your network, if you want it to. It came in really handy when I was trying to get a black-box NAS up and running, and I couldn't connect to it without knowing which ports were open.
     
  12. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Angry is good, also www.grc.com and use the Shields Up option and they'll let you know what's open and how vulnerable your system is.
     

Share This Page