Cheapest place to find Windows Vista Home Premium?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Danno, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. Danno

    Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    64,919
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Indiana
    Cheapest I can find is $110 for an OEM disc. Surely it can be had for cheaper than that.
     
  2. Jkuao

    Jkuao New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Microcenter has Home Premium for $99...32bit. Home Basic for $49. I got Ultimate for $150.

    How cheap are you trying to go?
     
  3. Danno

    Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    64,919
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Indiana
    Thought the cheapest I found at microcenter is $239...you have a link for $99? I'm ordering my processor from there if they ever get it in.:hs:
     
  4. Jkuao

    Jkuao New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. DweeLer

    DweeLer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano TX
    find a college kid and tell them to buy it for you through their college. win.
     
  6. Danno

    Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    64,919
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Indiana
    What about installing my XP Pro and getting an upgrade?
     
  7. Dutra

    Dutra Buy the ticket, take the ride.

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    torrent site son, wtf is wrong witcha
     
  8. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    Upgrades still fall under the retail pricing scheme. It's way cheaper to buy a piece of hardware that the computer requires to run like a hard drive, ram or CPU. Those pieces of hardware will qualify you to purchase the OEM copy, which is legit and much cheaper than the retail ones. Some places will break the rules and sell you any sort of hardware like a mouse, floppy drive and stuff like that and unless MS changed the rules, is illegal.
     
  9. Danno

    Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    64,919
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Indiana
    Well, I'm going to be ordering all my stuff for a new build which is why I was just going to purchase Vista while I was ordering everything.
     
  10. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    Then go OEM, it's by far the best value.
     
  11. CrazyInteg

    CrazyInteg Honda-Acura.net OG

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    12,206
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Omaha
    Is that a full version (not an XP upgrade) and does it only contain a license for install on one computer only?
     
  12. Danno

    Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    64,919
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Indiana
    Pretty sure all the OEM versions are for one computer only. But, I have no need to install it on any other computers.
     
  13. Skankin'

    Skankin' We are Ginger. We do not forgive. We do not forget

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought an OEM version of Home Premium 32-bit from Microcenter a few monthes ago for $110. The OEM is for "system builders" only but it will install on any computer that has the required specs and is the full version. Its just a marked down price for people that know where to look.
     
  14. lightsareout

    lightsareout New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    start digging through the neighbors garbage thats where you'll find vista
     
  15. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    My understanding of this is that when you perform the update, your XP Pro liscence is then forfeited.
     
  16. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    actually, no. for $99 you get the full license to install it on every single computer in the US, Indonesia and Sweden. in order to get the rest of the countries in Europe included, you'll need to add $1 more for the upgrade fee.
     

Share This Page