cheapest and easiest way to hook up two computers so I can transfer sum files

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Spur, Aug 24, 2004.

  1. Spur

    Spur Boomer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    3,685
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    AZ
    well???
     
  2. sleepy71

    sleepy71 Guest

    Crossover cable.
     
  3. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    On my powerbook I can connect to my G4 using a regular ethernet cable, they have autosensing ports or something like that. Since they both have gigabit ethernet transferring files is quite fast.

    Alternatively I can boot the powerbook into target disk mode and transfer files via firewire, it's slower than gigE (400Mb/s versus 1000Mb/s) but it still gets the job done.
     
  4. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Pull the hard disk with the data on it and connect it to the secondary IDE cable of the machine you're copying the data to. Then just drag n drop.
     
  5. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
     
  6. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    :hsugh:
     
  7. spinflip

    spinflip Guest

    Manually transfer files by reading the text on one computer and typing it on another. Thats the cheapest :)
     
  8. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    Go get a USB Thumb Drive.. Problem solved.
     
  9. Jerboy

    Jerboy Guest

    Cd-rw
     
  10. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,456
    Likes Received:
    12
     
  11. Spur

    Spur Boomer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    3,685
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    AZ
    ok and now how? Because I know it's a little more than "connect" the cables
     
  12. Jerboy

    Jerboy Guest

    My research skillz > j00

    http://www.mycableshop.com/techarticles/connecting2computers.htm

    Do you have IEEE1394 aka firewire on both puters? You can use a simple end-to-end cable to connect them together. How? research it yourself.
     
  13. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    That's how I do it.
     
  14. Spur

    Spur Boomer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    3,685
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    AZ
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2004
  15. beez

    beez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    19,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queens
    I'd pay the money for something like that. It seems like it'd be handy to keep around.

    Right now I just connect through my router.
     
  16. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Firewire is the fastest and easiest if you have XP and firewire on both PCs.
     
  17. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firewire if you have it - if not then use a crossover cable.
     
  18. Jay

    Jay My shit don't stink

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    36,746
    Likes Received:
    2
    that's what I do... fast, cheap and easy :o
     
  19. 127.0.0.1

    127.0.0.1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    if you put a crossover cable between the drives, set up a home network, and windows will automatically install it. then the other comp will show up in my network places. to make things easy, put them both on the same workgroup
     

Share This Page