LGBT Chat rooms and gay people

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by marxwa99, Sep 20, 2005.

1. marxwa99

marxwa99 Boom Squad

Hey all:

So most of you, well maybe a few of you since I rarely post nowadays, well some of you know that I’m a grad student studying communication, specifically chat room usage by marginalized individuals.

My new project is looking at first mapping the terrain of chat room usage by gay individuals. I was wondering if you all could answer these questions.

THIS HAS BEEN APPROVED BY A MOD (i.e. Nova) and only my advisor will see this information. This will not be included in any data collection. it is a simple pretest. If you feel more comfortable sending me the info via PM, that works too!

Thanks!

Zack

I’m looking for:
    (1a) the names of ALL the Internet chat rooms that you utilize and have utilized (if applicable)

With this list you composed, can you include for EACH chat room:
    (1b) how frequent you utilize each Internet chat room
    (1c) how comfortable you are in the chat room (on a scale from 1-10, 1 = not comfortable at all, 10 = completely comfortable. Also please include a quick explanation of what led you to rate your comfort in the room as that numeric value)
    (1d) how accepting the chat room is to gay individuals? (on a scale from 1-10, 1 = not accepting at all, 10 = completely accepting. Also please include a a quick explanation of what led you to rate your perception of the acceptance in the room as that numeric value)

This last part is optional:
    Think of the chat room you utilize the most. Please briefly describe:
    (2a) a typical trip on the chat room you utilize the most entail
    (2b) one outstanding/good experience you had in that chat room
    (2c) one horrible/bad experience.

2. Wolf

Wolf No one plans to take the path that brings you lowe

Do you want replies if we don't use chat rooms?