Changing the region code for DVD's

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jc_smith, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. jc_smith

    jc_smith New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I received a dvd series for a gift, but it came from austarlia so i have to set my region to region 4. but now the number of times i can change it has gone to 0 and it's locked. how can i safely unlock it? i think it's bullshit they do this, i cant even watch my own dvd now!!
     
  2. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    the only legal way to do it is to buy a region-fre dvd player.
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    I hope for your sake, that your last change was to region 1.

    In a case like this, I would have no problem whatsoever at backing up those copies and stripping the region code from it.

    I recall a year or so ago, that the dvd companies got their asses sued for that region bullshit. Even the judge was saying that the official reasons given by the companies sounded like bull to him.
     
  4. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    that and probably making sure that it is PAL compatible.
     
  5. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    DVD Player or DVD drive?
    DVD Players require some hackable firmware.

    DVD drives give AnyDVD a try. From what I understand it helps you to change or remove the region settings
     

Share This Page