Changing the Ports that Bittorrent uses.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Kelvin96GSR, Sep 28, 2004.

  1. Kelvin96GSR

    Kelvin96GSR OEM>YOU

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    32,938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    I just moved into a townhouse on the UW campus but it seems like they have made the ports(6881-6999) that BT uses unavailable. Is there a way to make BT use other ports? I've tried seraching on google but nothing really came up.
     
  2. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    sure. it's in the advanced options i believe. at least on shadow's experimental client
     
  3. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I think it may also depend on the clent you are using. I use Azureus and it only uses a single port that I picked.

    I'm on a few torrent sites with private trackers and they usually have ports 6881-6999 blacklisted anyway.
     
  4. Kelvin96GSR

    Kelvin96GSR OEM>YOU

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    32,938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    what's a good port to use?
     
  5. SL1200MK4

    SL1200MK4 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,552
    Likes Received:
    0
    6881++

    In general it wont' make much of a difference, because the tracker knows which port your client binds to.

    However I think the original protocol uses 6881, and uses one TCP port for each session. So if you have two downloads (two different seeds) then it will use 6881 and 6882 and so on.

    But some client like BitTorando uses something else as default. Also depends on your firewall setting, you might not want to make it randomized...
     
  6. badguy106

    badguy106 Location:Tn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    What ports are you forwarding? Make sure the site/tracker you are downloading from doesn't have them blacklisted. In my other post above, some of the sites I am on have 6881-6999 blocked so they can't be used.

    And what client are you using?

    Also run a google search for BT Engine. That program can almost double my download speeds when run.
     
  8. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
  9. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    holy bump :eek3:
     

Share This Page