Changing Operatin Systems - Vista TO XP

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jaywalk85, Apr 2, 2007.

  1. jaywalk85

    jaywalk85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Girlfriend thinking about buying a new Dell today with Vista, would it be possible to wipe Vista off the system and install XP?
     
  2. abyss0208

    abyss0208 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    As long as you have a copy of XP you can boot to it and do a fresh install.
     
  3. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    call dell and tell them you won't buy it unless they install XP instead of vista

    they'll do it.
     
  4. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Yes, the Vista key works with XP -- but do what 7960 said.
     
  5. jaywalk85

    jaywalk85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think she wants to do it so she'll have a copy of Vista for the future but would prefer to run XP currently. Do they even give cd's for operating systems when you buy a new cpu anymore?
     
  6. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    you can opt to buy a re-install disk for like $15 or something

    but it'll only install on that machine, and it'll only put the machine back to what you would have gotten from the factory.
     
  7. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Dell machines come with a factory 'image' on a hidden partition on the hard drive, if she doesn't get the CD she can always install the factory settings that way...but it will wipe ALL data from the system.

    If you format and install XP make sure you don't touch the additional paritions (there's probably 2 utility partitions, 1 system[vista] partition). You'd want to format the latter.
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I think it would be a waste of energy to install xp on a machine that already is vista capable. It won't even take a week to adjust to the new os, and since she'll be using vista eventually why not do it now?
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Trivia note: My buddy was working on a Dell recently, and when he went to
    do run the hidden partition, he says he recognized the software as rebranded Acronis image software.
     
  10. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    except that a lot of software still isn't compatible with Vista. I had trouble installing Visual Studio 2005 w/ the latest service pack on vista. :ugh:
     
  11. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Oh, right on. That's the same reason I haven't gone with vista yet.
     
  12. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Ya, last time I went into one it looked like an Acronis UI for diagnostics but it launched a Norton Ghost Restore :ugh:
     

Share This Page