changing imei number on cell phone

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by frostedfrank, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. frostedfrank

    frostedfrank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,754
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    so I have a new phone that I bought unlocked but my carrier will only let their phones to have the unlimited data package, so could I change my new phones imei number to what my old phone's number? (which was branded to that carrier)

    If yes, any way of getting caught or anything, I mean it's my old phone and wouldn't sell it if I were to do that
     
  2. BlackWRX02

    BlackWRX02 OTs Cingular Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Daytona
    It can be done but its pretty difficult from what I understand.

    I dont see why you can't just put your SIM in the new phone and use it. The carrier usually doesn't check IMEI's that closely. I know in our system it doesn't automatically register the IMEI, we have to enter it manually. Thus, just tell them you have the old phone still, add the data plan, and then put your SIM in the new unlocked phone.
     
  3. frostedfrank

    frostedfrank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,754
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    well I've been doing quite a bit of reading and it looks like the carrier (Fido) will be charging for non fido branded phones by checking the imei #. and only fido phones will be allowed to get on the plan I want. It's just an unlimited data, but only branded phones, no pdas or wm devices.)

    so I wouldn't be able to just activate on other phone then switch sim I guess.
    sadly :(
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2008
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    then follow their rules or change carriers. simple.
     
  5. frostedfrank

    frostedfrank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,754
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    wow, if it really was such a big deal to me I would have gotten their fucking phone :slap:
    just trying to see if I could use an old branded phone's imei #
     
  6. BlackWRX02

    BlackWRX02 OTs Cingular Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Daytona
    I've never heard of any carrier doing that.

    ask around on howardforums.com in the Fido section.
     
  7. frostedfrank

    frostedfrank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,754
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    that's exactly where I've been getting my info. massive thread on the new package and it's limitation. all the CSRs are saying no problem with non-branded phone but website clearly says otherwise in the small text. so really bunch of people are waiting for the guys to get their bill and then see from there.
    Just thought I'd have a crack at OT for the imei # since howardforum won't really let us talk about it
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Who the fuck is Fido? Get an account with a national carrier that actually has some accountability.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    very large carrier in canada.
     
  10. frostedfrank

    frostedfrank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,754
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    only 2 gsm carriers in Canada. well used to be 2.. Fido and Rogers but Rogers bought Fido, which is not really cool as Fido used to be a very good carrier but now :greddy:
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah. Well, at least it's GSM.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    wtf? You do realize that GSM is technically shittier than CDMA, right? The only two benefits to GSM are that it's easier to swap handsets, and it's more compatible when traveling internationally. Other than that, CDMA enjoys signifigantly better call quality, larger coverage size of a cell site, faster data speeds, more cell coverage within U.S., more rural coverage, etc.
     

Share This Page