CD Test Drive: 2006 Pontiac Solstice

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by TriShield, Nov 7, 2005.

1. TriShield

TriShield Super Moderator® Super Moderator

[​IMG]

November 7, 2005
    Review and photos by Laurance Yap

[​IMG]

In my entire experience as an auto journalist, I can't remember a car that I wanted to love more than the Pontiac Solstice. I stood on my feet and cheered when Bob Lutz drove it out onto the big GM stage at the Detroit auto show. A year later, I did the same all over again when the company announced that not only would it build the Solstice, but that it would be built on a unique rear-drive platform specifically engineered for lightweight, two-seat sports cars.

The Solstice is now on the road, finally - and it looks like a concept car come to life. None of the original car's curves seem to have been toned down for production; it still swoops and bulges in all the right places. The car's stance is just right, on giant - and standard-fit - 18-inch wheels and tires. The details, which made the car such a lovely thing to look at on an auto show stand, are all still there, from the triangular indentation in the side to the single polished exhaust tip and the snarling Pontiac nostrils (unfortunately, in Ontario, spoiled by a license plate holder that looks like it's been added as an afterthought). Drive down the 401 and people gawk and point; they weave in and out of traffic to get closer to you; they slow down as they pull alongside to give you the big thumbs-up.

Can I call this the prettiest car of the year?

It's pretty gorgeous inside, too.