Cart versus Formula 1 -- wheels ?

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by The Bastard, Jul 15, 2001.

1. The Bastard

The Bastard Guest

I'm still learning about the two sports but there are differences between the two that I can't figure out.

Why do Cart use slicks and F1 doesn't ? Wouldn't F1 be much more effective if they used slicks as well ?

And does it seem like F1 races in more exotic places ?

peace

2. CFster

CFster Guest

F1 - Long post

The FIA (the sanctioning body that controls F1) has mandated that they should run grooved tires. This was in an effort to slow the cars down. A few years ago they ran slicks which were actually quite a bit wider than the tires they have now. The wheels were also wider apart offering greater stability. Ironically, as with everything else in F1, the engineers have tweaked the cars to the point where they have regained the speed they initially lost when they switched to the smaller, grooved tires. Could you imagine how fast they would be now if they stayed with the slicks? Actually, both CART and F1 instigate rules changes every year in an effort to slow the cars down. Things like reducing wing size to reduce downforce and turbo boost pressure (CART) to lower horsepower. The CART cars still go 240mph at Fontana so I think this is a good thing (any faster and people would be dying left and right).
    As for location, CART got its start at Indianapolis and grew from there (then they had the CART/IRL split but that's another story). Only in the last couple of years have they started expanding to international venues. The F1 series on the other hand was always an international series that started in Europe (Britain and Italy at first). This is the way it has been for 50 years.