SRS career advice anyone?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by unorthadox, Dec 7, 2008.

1. unorthadox

unorthadox New Member

hi guys,

a bit of a different help thread, in that i do not have girl issues at the moment.
    instead i have a bit of a career/life problem.

lowdown:
    i graduated with an honors bba in business, concentration accounting from a good school. didn't do coop, so i dont have any job contacts per se and most of my summer jobs were with friends of friends at places i wouldn't consider starting a career with.

went back for a term to get complete courses so that i can obtain my CA or a similar accounting designation. i've been trying to find work for Jan 1 in accounting but most firms hire a year in advance (which i didn't know until this year!) so i am likely out of the running for a spot with an established firm until september of next year at the earliest.

here are my options:
    i could go back to school, take some more courses and bump up the marks of classes i didnt do so well in. i will most likely be taking at least one course next year as im fairly certain i failed advanced taxation. this would work well as my girlfriend is still in school and most of my friends will be around too. however, it is costly and i would have to justify the costs by being certain i can find a job at the end of it in order to pay off the costs.

i could be done with school (aside from that one course) and apply to a bunch of campus jobs while i search for accounting jobs. this would be ok, but might not look good on the resume or improve my marks. it would give the cash i need to pay off some debts though.