car audio install cost???

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by michelin man, Nov 22, 2005.

  1. michelin man

    michelin man IDB Construction

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    11,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    what can i expect to pay to have one 4 channel and one 1 channel amp installed in my car?


    i would do it myself but i paid too much for this car to chance messing it up.

    (I have all the wiring needed for the install)
     
  2. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Probably between $60-$120 would be my guess depending on the shop and quality of work.

    What kind of car? Unless you force things, it's generally pretty hard to really screw something up...
     
  3. michelin man

    michelin man IDB Construction

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    11,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
  4. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    The hardest part I think of any amp install is finding a spot in the firewall to run the cables. Past that it's a matter of removing panels and running the wire. The 2nd hardest part is finding a good grounding point and drilling the hole for a star washer, big deal lol. Go to the infiniti board and I'm sure (like any other enthusiast forum) they will have a FAQ that details how to remove the panels in your car. But, if you don't want to take the time, go ahead and go to a shop. Nothing wrong with that.
     
  5. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,805
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    its also an amplified system... have fun finding the outputs of the bose amp, actually each speaker is probably individually amped.
     
  6. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    I guess I just assumed if he was adding amplifiers he would be replacing the stock speakers. If he didn't, he could use the 4 channel amp to bi-amp the front speakers assuming either his HU or amp has a XO. So, michelin man, are you keeping the stock speakers?
     
  7. michelin man

    michelin man IDB Construction

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    11,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    http://www.ipodly.com/M45_Audio.pdf

    i did the "system" in my tl-s and i worked around the bose crap...

    there is only one amp
     
  8. michelin man

    michelin man IDB Construction

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    11,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    new speakers
    new 4 channel for the speakers
    and
    a 1 channel for the sub
     
  9. bearsdidit

    bearsdidit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    32,805
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    nice you're set.
     

Share This Page