Car Audio Crew: Question regarding fuses for amp power

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by LaxStar18, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. LaxStar18

    LaxStar18 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Hey this may be a dumb question but as a electrician it had me scratching my head. I changed the inline fuse going to my amp today and when putting in the new fuse I had a nice little arc happen. Now seeing as how the car and head unit were both off there should have been no draw from the amp right? Is this normal? Or should I be a little concerned? Thanks
     
  2. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,752
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
    we call it the spark of life, at the shop... it's normal, the caps in the amp hold a charge.
     
  3. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    this
     
  4. LaxStar18

    LaxStar18 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Cool, thanks for the quick responses now how about a slight burnt electronics smell? Could it be dust that was in the amp?
     
  5. GammaRadiation

    GammaRadiation Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    29,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Random Location.FL
    Amps and speakers burn off dust and glue.
     

Share This Page