car audio crew: few questions about a new head unit

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by KSNIPPY, Nov 7, 2007.

  1. KSNIPPY

    KSNIPPY As lost as i get i will find you

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    souf
    ok, im wanting to get a new head unit for my car and im specifically looking to get one with aux input to connect an mp3 player because my current one doesnt have one. anyone got and recommendations for about $150 or less.

    also, i currently have an aftermarket unit and got a wiring harness with it, will i have to buy another wiring harness for the new one?

    damn i fucked the thread title
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2007
  2. bbmobbin

    bbmobbin Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OC, CA
  3. PEnGUiN188

    PEnGUiN188 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    5,835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    You can use your old harness.
     
  4. KSNIPPY

    KSNIPPY As lost as i get i will find you

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    souf
    i thought they were brand specific or something? i guess just brand specific according to make of the vehicle.
     
  5. KSNIPPY

    KSNIPPY As lost as i get i will find you

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    souf
    i was actually looking at that one, i need to go play with it in person though to get a feel of it. when i bought my current alpine unit i was looking at pioneers but just diddnt like the interface or control of them. i hope theyve improved that about them. i would get another alpine but i cant find one that just has an aux connection, instead it looks like you have to use an ipod and by way of their special cable.
     
  6. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,753
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
    depending on which alpine you got, as to which plug to get... there's plugs you can get, to go in the back to add sources.
     
  7. KSNIPPY

    KSNIPPY As lost as i get i will find you

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    souf
    so youre saying that there may be a cable that could work on my current one?

    the only input i have on the back of my current unit says its for a cd changer:dunno:
     
  8. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,753
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
    what model # of unit do you have???
     
  9. KSNIPPY

    KSNIPPY As lost as i get i will find you

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    souf
    cda 9811
     
  10. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,753
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
  11. KSNIPPY

    KSNIPPY As lost as i get i will find you

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    souf
  12. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    you won't have iPod control with your current unit, but that may not be a big deal for you.
     
  13. KSNIPPY

    KSNIPPY As lost as i get i will find you

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    souf
    yeah i know, which i dont mind at all. everyone i know that uses that hates it because of the shitty interface or something.
     
  14. KSNIPPY

    KSNIPPY As lost as i get i will find you

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    souf
    plus ill prob be getting the new zune instead of an ipod anyways.
     
  15. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    werd. The 9811 was in the last generation of good alpines. glad you get to keep it.
     
  16. KSNIPPY

    KSNIPPY As lost as i get i will find you

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    souf
    yeah i love it.

    i was getting pissed about the thought of having to part with it, especially after having it for 4 years and it being so good to me.
     
  17. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,753
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
    wtg???
     
  18. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    :squint: don't question me. ok, maybe one more generation after that, but you know it hit the :greddy: when they started that touch strip shit. and now only 2v outputs? :eek4:
     
  19. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,753
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
    any alpine would blow away, any kenwood in the same price point... i question the sanity of anyone, who doubts the awesomeness of alpine's headunits... and that touch strip lasted about a minute, and you can't blame them for trying something new... and 2v vs. 4v isn't that big of a difference... now if it were a jump from 6v to 2v, that would be a big deal.
     
  20. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    :hsugh: i haven't worked in a shop since '04 :mamoru: and i didn't like alpine then. but that's just me.
     

Share This Page