Car Amp and Sub in Home.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Maud'dib, Dec 26, 2003.

  1. Maud'dib

    Maud'dib It's always summer on the inside...

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    6,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UC Los Angeles Hometown: San Diego,
    So I used to have a car, and in that car I had a 12" sub and an amp to power it. Now at school, I no longer have a car, but I've still got the equipment from before. I wanna run the sub in my home theater system, and know I need a convertor from 120AC to 12DC, but my question is, how many amps to I need to power such a set up? Is 3 reasonable? If not, what should I need? The amp should be putting out about 300 watts.

    Thanks in advance, guys. I'm kinda clueless on this stuff.
     
  2. BlkX

    BlkX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you just want to power 1 12" sub, 300w from one amplifier is plenty.
     
  3. 04

    04 Guest

    Well, if the amplifier puts out a true 300 watts, and is around 50 percent efficient, you are going to need a 14.4v dc power supply that puts out at least 40 amps.
     
  4. GSteg

    GSteg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most convertor i have seen are made to put out about 13.5v, but to find one with enough current is going to cost you some big bucks.

    instead, look at some Plate amplifiers.
    http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage.cfm?webpage_id=3&SO=2&&DID=7&CATID=43&ObjectGroup_ID=505


    look at the power ratings carefully. the 250w plate amp really does [email protected] and [email protected] Its a better idea than running a convertor becuase you're going to have to deal with a lot of heat generated by the convertor and the car audio amplifer. With this, all you do is plug plug and plug.
     
  5. Maud'dib

    Maud'dib It's always summer on the inside...

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    6,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UC Los Angeles Hometown: San Diego,
    Jesus christ, 40 amps? That's one hell of a lot of current.
     
  6. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,614
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    We once powered 5 computer, 3 monitors, tv, fridge, 5.1 system, 2 powered infinty kappa speakers, and a tons of other small stuff off 2 outlets which were on one circuit. :eek3:

    Most circuits in dorms are rated higher than home setups.
     
  7. flynfrog

    flynfrog Cool isnt Cheap

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    i second jsut buying an amp made for home or you can go strait red neck and get a battey charger and a deep cycle
     
  8. 04

    04 Guest

    Yes, but that 40 ampere specification is at 14.4 volts...

    At 120 volts, even after the power supply inefficiencies, you will be well below even 10 amperes at full output.
     
  9. Grouch

    Grouch Guest

    buy a 250watt amp from partsexpress
     
  10. MikeHunt79

    MikeHunt79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK - Bristol mind!
    Use a car battery in your room, and have it charging the whole time to stop it going flat... A battery can provide large amounts of current.

    I am successfully doing this atm.
     
  11. GSteg

    GSteg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    plate amp is still the cheapest and easiest solution. looks clean too without all those wires. :cool:
     
  12. < DEV >

    < DEV > Red Rocket

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    713
    I have a heavy-duty 12v power supply if you wanna buy it. It was made to run 12v HAM radio amps, and puts out ~20 amps and has adjustable voltage (11v to 15v).
     

Share This Page