cap bandwidth for network users

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nebtrem, Jun 13, 2006.

  1. nebtrem

    nebtrem New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm on a LAN with a couple other guys (3 to be exact) ... we have Qwest's 1.5mb/256k package ... and it sucks huge donkey balls, but it's the best we can get here since we can't get cable.

    It seems like two of my other roomates are taking up all the bandwidth by playing WoW. However I didn't WoW took up to much bandwidth at all... but when they're not playing it, me and the other roomate get our normal 80ms(woohoo!) playing cs or quake or any other fps's... sooo I was wondering if there was anyway we can get our router to limit the amount of bandwidth each user uses.. or download a program or do something. I'm pretty new to all this so any help/direction/links would be great. Thanks.
     
  2. nubian

    nubian Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27,761
    Likes Received:
    1
    buy some visegrips and pinch their network cables.
    that should work.
     
  3. nebtrem

    nebtrem New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    haha ...

    *EDIT* that wasn't funny by the way, just being sarcastic ;P.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2006
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    get a router that has QoS.
     

Share This Page