Can't view any you tube links??????????

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by negative zero, Feb 17, 2007.

  1. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    I get this error when I try and view any you tube link.




    Clicked the link to make sure I have the latest flash but I already do. SO I tried to go into Security options for IE and it won't let me add you tube as a trusted site because it's http instead of https.
    This is a new install of XP and it never did this on the old install.

    Any ideas on how to fix it?
     
  2. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Well you have the latest Flash, but did you check to see if Javascript is disabled?

    1. Open Internet Explorer.
    2. Select Internet Options from the Tools menu.
    3. In Internet Options dialog box select the Security tab.
    4. Click Custom level button at bottom. The Security settings dialog box will pop up.
    5. Under Scripting category enable Active Scripting, Allow paste options via script and Scripting of Java applets
    6. Click OK twice to close out.
    7. Hit Refresh.
     
  3. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    I don't see "Allow paste options via script". I enabled everything else and still get the error.
     
  4. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    Well, I found some info on adobe's site and it said to unistall and reinstall flash so I did. Everything seems to work now.
     
  5. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,088
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204

    It's become more of an issue lately for many people, myself included. It will work fine for a while, then the same thing starts happening. It doesn't make any sense because I haven't done any updates since I fixed it, and now it's broken again. It's easy enough to fix, but a huge pain in the ass to have to do it 3 or 4 times a week.

    If you find a perminant fix, please post it.
     
  6. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    I had a friend that had problems installing flash. Tried to help them uninstall it but it didn't completely remove the program...so the reinstall didn't work either.

    There's a tool on Adobe's website, under troubleshooting, called Flash Removal Tool or something like that. It wipes all traces of flash off your drive. So we used that, rebooted the machine to make sure all changes were applied, then restarted the d/l process and it worked fine.
     
  7. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower

Share This Page