SRS Can't sleep

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Kerberos, May 1, 2008.

1. Kerberos

Kerberos New Member

I seem to have reached my stress threshold yet again. It's 1:15 in the morning and I can't sleep. Of course, I went the route of self-medication and drank a bit of scotch but I forgot that I hadn't drank in a while and that it would only put me in a depressive mood. What keeps me up? A combination of things.

First of all, I'm really stressed from work. I am a software engineer at a startup company at which I started in January, this is my first job since coming out of university. For some reason, I'm the only person remotely qualified in some aspects. For some reason, I've also been eager to take up as much responsibility as possible which means that 4 months later, I end up with some important responsibilities for which I am only remotely qualified and I keep hitting walls and encountering problems.

Second of all, I got dumped by my girlfriend about 2 weeks ago. She basically thinks that I'm really fun to hang out with but thinks it was a mistake to go further. That did wonders for my self-esteem.

Third of all, I just started studying for my masters part-time right tonight. It's a ton of work, and I don't know if I can make it. Notwithstanding that it's probably the worst way to relax before going to bed.

Fourth of all, I've restarted going to the gym. And for some reason, going to the gym makes it harder for me to sleep. I go in the morning, and for some reason it makes me way more awake the entire day, up to and including all the following night.

Fifth of all, I think there's now fleas in my apartment, I keep getting bitten, and I'm now staying awake in anticipation of being bitten. Stupid nasty neighbors. Gotta find a new place.

And worst of all, I'm isolated and emotionally starved. My only real friend was my girlfriend and I feel betrayed by the way she left me. My other friends are only draining me.