SRS Can't settle on a career path

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by epitaph, Sep 6, 2008.

1. epitaph

epitaph Exorcizamus te, omnis immundus spiritus.

Anyone else who can't make up their mind about a career path? Not so much feeling lost without any idea at all. Rather you have a bunch of different things bouncing around in your head and you can't narrow it down and focus on one?

I feel I have a lot to offer employers. Unfortunately without a piece of paper in the field, or a couple years work experience, it doesn't matter what you think you can offer anyone. I feel that I'm a bit of a jack of all trades and because of that I can't focus on one thing to become great at and make a career out of it.

I have a BA in Journalism which I consider to be fairly useless. My "concentration" was multimedia/design and I know I don't want that. I bounce between careers in the environment, IT, industrial or sports photography (currently I am a product photographer for Newegg), becoming an electrician. I even think about careers with animals or pets. I love dogs. I dislike most people. :o

Before I get too verbose I'll end it here. Just wondering if anyone can relate or help. I know I have potential. I just don't know how what to do in choosing something and focusing on it. I fear that I'll change my mind after working towards it and having to start over AGAIN. Much like I am now after just picking that major because it was junior year and I still hadn't made up my mind.

I know the most obvious answer is just pick one and DO IT. I wish it were that easy. Not sure if any help can be had but thanks for reading anyway. :hs:

2. Viper

Viper OT Supporter

REad:

"Your Personal Rennassaince" by Diane Dreher

3. Darketernal

Darketernal Watch: Aria The Origination =)

Look i'll narrow it down, in materialistical life its only about one thing: Money.

SO whatever job gives you the most money = the desired job.

The main goal = money.